Really need help with 3gs

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by LanceFoxMcCloud, Apr 17, 2012.

  1. LanceFoxMcCloud macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Location:
    Florida
    #1
    Hey guys! Yes I'm new, very new. So I'll keep this short and simple.

    I worked for a long time to save up the $$ to purchase a used 8 gig iPhone 3gs that I want to use on Straight Talk's network. I got the phone, ordered ST's sim, got the sim, activated, phone makes and receives calls and txt's... but I CAN NOT get the data to work. I called straight talk and they told me I HAVE to unlock. Something I wasnt very "prepared" to do if you will. I've been researching ALL DAY, and am still on square 1.

    My firmware is 5.1 (which yes I realize may be the problem but I have high hopes that I am just ill informed and someone has already figured this out.)
    My baseband is 05.16.05

    I've come across two sites that charge $25 and unlock and jailbreak for you. They talk about a refund if it doesnt work, and they claim to be able to unlock and jailbreak 5.1..... First one is EasyRa1n RC 5, other one is "quickiphoneunlocking.com"

    My question, guys, is I just want to be able to use the net, make and receive calls and msgs.... my heads about to explode with information... will someone be so kind as to point me in the right direction with this? Thank you soo much to whoever helps in anyway whatsoever!!!

    Cheers!

    ~Fox
     
  2. PsstGreek macrumors 68040

    PsstGreek

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Location:
    Tampa Bay
    #2
    Straight Talk is a network affiliated with AT&T, there shouldn't be a need to unlock it. Your voice service should work when popping in the sim. For data, you'll probably have to edit the apn settings.

    I could be wrong with this info (someone correct me if I'm wrong).

    Also, stay away from those unlocking sites. All of them are scams.
     
  3. LanceFoxMcCloud thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Location:
    Florida
    #3
    Ok you're absolutely correct along the lines of what straight talk instructs you to do in their "activation package" if you will,... BUT!!! NOWHERE in my 3gs running 5.1, can I find where to edit those apn settings :confused:

    I had read a few mixed reviews on those sites (sometimes its difficult to differentiate if its a real customer or someone from the sites themselves) and was very sketchy about using their product in the first place. So you just clarified to me thats not a very good idea, thanks! :)

    But back to the phone issue, I'll be honest with you guys here, I'm no dummy when it comes to this stuff, and any technology in general that is.... but this has me very trumped. I'm thinking its not possible to edit the apn on 5.1? If so that really sucks...
     
  4. LanceFoxMcCloud thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Location:
    Florida
    #4
    I guess my next question if that's the case, that I can not edit the apn on 5.1.. I've been reading you're also unable to downgrade from 5.1 if I don't have the correct files? (remember I bought this phone used, and haven't had an iPhone synced to the computer I'm using since 2010 so I don't have the sh files.)
     
  5. labman macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #5
    correct you can not downgrade without shsh blobs. Quite simply that's what they are for. And they are individual to each device. Also downgrading firmware will not downgrade firmware if that's what your goal is. Also fyi the iPad baseband 6.15 will fry your iphone radio making it worthless. Your best option is to contact the original carrier about if they can unlock it. You can also use redsn0w or tinyumbrella to check for any when blobs.
     
  6. moonman239 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    #6
    This.

    I'd like to add that there's a 5.1 jailbreak, so you don't need to pay any of those potential scammers to do the job for you. Just download the latest redsn0w. If your bootrom is the old one, then you'll get an untethered jailbreak. If not, you'll get a tethered jailbreak.
     
  7. LanceFoxMcCloud thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Location:
    Florida
    #7
    Ok... I'm attempting to find out what bootrom i have right now, but a jailbreak still wont help me with my data issue correct??

    I just got off the phone with at&t. submitted at case for them to unlock the phone for me, told me I will know by the 27th via email... so we'll see on that one.

    Just wish I could unlock this beast and start surfing the net with it.
     
  8. sfphoto macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    #8
  9. sfphoto macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    #9
    Maybe this will help:

    Find the serial # for your iPhone. To do this go to Settings>General>About.

    The important digits are the 3rd, 4th, and 5th digits. The 3rd digit indicates the year it was made. For example, 9 for 2009 or 0 for 2010. The 4th and 5th digit tell what week of that year it was made. An old bootrom is before the 40th week of 2009. So, if it's below "940" then it is an old bootrom. If it's after that, then it's a new bootrom (like when the 3rd digit is 0).




     
  10. LanceFoxMcCloud thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Location:
    Florida
    #10
    Ok so I've determined I have the new baseband based on your info given :( Thanks for that!

    Now yes, that becomes the challenge finding the apn username and pass for straight talk. However, I dont even think my iPhone Configuration Utility is functioning correctly because it will not allow me to even try and create a "New" Configuration profile.
     
  11. wcaldwell macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    #11
    You CAN downgrade with out sh blobs

    This only works for 3GS I think, but you can downgrade to 4.1 without sh blobs using tiny umbrella on your mac. If you are interested in learning how let me know and I will tell you the steps!
     
  12. BlueRaider macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    #12
    If its an 8GB 3GS then it definitely has the newer fixed BootROM. Downgrade the phone to iOS 4.1, jailbreak, install tetherme and edit the APN Settings to use the phone on Straighttalk. After jail breaking open Cydia and check to see if the phone has ever had SHSH blobs cached automatically by Cydia for iOS 5.0-5.0.1. If so upgrade and rejailbreak
     
  13. wanzer macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    #13
    Exactly. Then follow this link to setup the rest of the data settings on your phone.
     

Share This Page