Really no Mic in on a Mac Pro?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by kork, Sep 21, 2009.

  1. kork macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    #1
    My friend just bought a Mac Pro and now has issues getting a simple headset to work with it. It seems like the line in does not amplify the signal so whatever he speaks into his microphone is too faint to be recorded. Now I wonder if he does something wrong or if it is really true that a $3000 Mac has no support for a 3.5mm mic in which is available on even the cheapest PC and also on my MacBook Pro. I am not talking about any fancy stuff like phantom power or so, just a plain simple 3.5mm microphone that works everywhere else. Any insights in how to get this to would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. sidewinder macrumors 68020

    sidewinder

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Northern California
    #2
    You might want to look at the "Sound" preference pane in "System Preferences".

    S-
     
  3. kork thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    #3
    Well we did. And we raised input to maximum. We connected some MP3 player to the input and it worked pretty well. The microphone did not. The same microphone works pretty well on all other computers we have tested...
     
  4. Plutonius macrumors 603

    Plutonius

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #4
    You need a powered mic (not the simple 3.5mm mic). I highly recommend a logitech usb mic.

    http://www.amazon.com/Logitech-Desktop-Microphone-Black-Silver/dp/B00009EHJV
     
  5. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #5
    this is correct.
     
  6. thegoldenmackid macrumors 604

    thegoldenmackid

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Location:
    dallas, texas
    #6
    Chances are if you spend that much money on a tower, you aren't going to want the quality that a 3.5mm mic has.
     
  7. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #7
    For professional audio applications, you always want to use an external sound card.
     
  8. Plutonius macrumors 603

    Plutonius

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #8
    All Macs require powered mics (including the MacBook Pro). Note - Your MacBook Pro was probably using it's internal mic when you were testing the external 3.5mm on it. Do a search on the topic in Macrumors and you will see that you need a powered mic with a Mac.

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=98180
     
  9. kork thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    #9
    Hmm, i see. Is there any sound card you could recommend?
     
  10. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #10
    What's your budget and application?
     
  11. kork thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    #11
    Well audio recording and processing, preferably with 5.1 support. Budget I'm not sure yet, but it doesnt have to be the cheapest thing on earth...
     
  12. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #12
    Also of note... The Mac Pro has optical audio in... I don't know much about the port... but I'd assume it's conceivable you could buy a device to input to that port.
     
  13. nightfly13 macrumors 6502a

    nightfly13

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Location:
    Ranchi, India
    #13
    You might consider getting a webcam/microphone solution. I have a logitech webcam with build in mic via USB and that covers two bases for me.
     
  14. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #14
    I agree! I have about 20 or more "good" mics some running well over $2,000. The best mic I've ever used for voice however is the Heil PR-40 which has all the qualities and specs of a >$2K mic but costs only about $200 to $250. Sweet mic!



    You do need an audio interface for it tho!
    I like the Edirol and M-Audio units myself. Currently I'm using the $800, 10-input, big honking, slightly old, UA-1000:

    [​IMG]

    and also the M-Audio Ozone which basicaly has the functionality of this: http://www.m-audio.com/products/en_us/FastTrackPro.html but with a keyboard and control surface.

    [​IMG]

    I have more than a few other audio interfaces but I like these best in the home user price range.

    Whatever you choose have fun and good luck!
     
  15. GoKyu macrumors 65816

    GoKyu

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Location:
    New Orleans
    #15
    I've been really happy with the Snowball Mic from Blue Microphones.

    You can usually get one a little cheaper from Amazon (right now they're running about $75.)

    It's fully powered by USB, so there's just the one USB cable, and that's all you need to deal with.
     
  16. kork thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    #16
    Do you know an audio interface that would support 5.1 output as well and would also work in bootcamp?
     
  17. Syonidism macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Location:
    Turkey
    #17
    I can also suggest the Razer megalodon for you if youre into gaming too.

    but imo its more than just a gaming headset:

    -7.1 sound
    -external usb powered sound card ( less gpu usage for your mac / however small )
    - ambient noise cancelling (both mic + headset)

    and overall a nicely done quality razer product which i always trust.

    PS: I also hate the fact that my mac pro cant just decipher the simplest of mics. i mean... come on. Also the lack of card reader on this bad baby twists my pants.
     
  18. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #18
    I think any AI that has an optical connection like the Mac can accept 5.1 or 6.1 or even 7.1. The thing is that most of them will not drive speakers and lots of them do not have enough analogue jacks for separated output to a mixer or whatever. You'll probably still need a downstream processor to process the signal.



    .
     
  19. seisend macrumors 6502a

    seisend

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Location:
    Switzerland, ZG
    #19
    Well I got professional Microphones and stuff, but I just would like to have a Mic that I can hide or just is very small. just for talking in skype and stuff... Don't want to put on a headset or speak into a dildo on my desk.
     
  20. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #20
    No dildos? How about a flat tittty-looking thing?

    [​IMG]

    It even has a push-button nipple. :D




    .
     
  21. seisend macrumors 6502a

    seisend

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Location:
    Switzerland, ZG
    #21
    lol.... cheap.... price ... :) I mean something like a phone loudspeaker thingy. you placed it anywhere on your desk , maybe behind the screen. Just for PC and under 100 bugs . ;-) Nothing professional, just simple easy and for skype etc.
     
  22. lesreaper2009 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    #22
    I know this is a really old thread, but it's really stupid to not have a mic in. I edit movies, and I just want to put on a damn headset to talk on skype.

    Another Apple fail. Ugh, I'm really getting ready to leave this company.
     
  23. GoKyu macrumors 65816

    GoKyu

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Location:
    New Orleans
    #23
    Easy, buy a Logitech USB headset - runs anywhere from $30-40, and worked great for me using Skype. I don't use this method anymore because my phone has Skype, but I do use it to record audio for videos I put on YouTube.
     
  24. CaptainChunk macrumors 68020

    CaptainChunk

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #24
    A USB headset or a USB sound card dongle can do the trick if you need something simple.

    Modern MBPs have mic-in functionality provided you use a device (like the iPhone earbuds) with a 3-ring mini plug, IIRC. Outside of that, you're stuck using an external device or audio I/O card.
     
  25. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #25
    There is no Mic In. Use any USB Microphone, firewire microphone, or get a USB adapter such as the Griffin iMic to use your existing microphone.

    Also, some current model Logitech USB keyboards also have a Mic In port.

    Apple Cinema Displays also have a mic.
     

Share This Page