Really quick/easy VMFusion question.

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by wgr73, Oct 1, 2008.

  1. wgr73 macrumors 6502a

    wgr73

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #1
    Say I have XP installed on my bootcamp partition. Can I install VMFusion and tell it to look to the HDD for XP or do I have to have a different install (virtual install)? Because I already have it installed and it would be nice if I could just point it to the bootcamp install. :) thanks guys!
     
  2. swiftaw macrumors 603

    swiftaw

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Omaha, NE, USA
    #2
    Yes, you can tell both VMFusion and Parallels to use your Bootcamp partition.
     
  3. wgr73 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    wgr73

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #3
    But can I tell it to use the windows xp thats already installed on that partition? This is what you might be saying, im not sure:confused:...thanks!:cool:
     
  4. dmo580 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    #4
    Yes. I have a Vista installation done through Boot Camp. Two weeks later I got Parallels and it works flawlessly. Decided to try out VMWare Fusion last week and it works flawlessly with my Boot Camp partition. No need to reinstall.
     
  5. wgr73 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    wgr73

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #5
    Thanks, I figured it out. You have to have "guest" turned on in your Windows installation first....then VMware Fusion will work!:cool:
     

Share This Page