Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

a2cute2control

macrumors member
Original poster
May 31, 2005
I'm a real newbie, about to switch to ibook...anyway i few questions I need to have answered.

1) Do you really need the airport extremem base for wireless networking, or can another wireless router work. The apple one is so much more expensive...any idea why?...problems, etc.

2) Yes i know d/l from p2p is bad in some cases, but can someone tell me of ares works on macs. It's a killer program, or do you people use some other p2p program and just shy to talk about it.

3) any other webcams besides isight work with the ibook. Once again it's more expensive and my webcam now works fine.

4) messenger, I hear lots of talk about a program that incorporates aim, yahoo, icq, msn into one, but it seems like there is hassel involved. Also, in some cases you cant transfer photos, webcam , etc. does ichat use messenger contacts?

Thank-you so much for all the info....i've been waiting for an update, but i just might bite the bullet and go all out and splurge. 14'' superdrive....any suggestions.

NeoMayhem

macrumors 6502a
Aug 22, 2003
a2cute2control said:
I'm a real newbie, about to switch to ibook...anyway i few questions I need to have answered.

1) Do you really need the airport extremem base for wireless networking, or can another wireless router work. The apple one is so much more expensive...any idea why?...problems, etc.

2) Yes i know d/l from p2p is bad in some cases, but can someone tell me of ares works on macs. It's a killer program, or do you people use some other p2p program and just shy to talk about it.

3) any other webcams besides isight work with the ibook. Once again it's more expensive and my webcam now works fine.