Really slow starting up and crashing mac after started using bootcamp?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Haruhi, May 27, 2009.

  1. Haruhi macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    #1
    Since I partitioned it 5GB for bootcamp, the mac bit is really slow at starting up and it crashes when i am only using safari etc...
    I feel like deleting the partition, but will that make it worse? I dunno
    Any advice...
    And I have about 99% of the mac part free..i only have 2-5 programs that weren't on the computer when i bought it, and it crashing average twice an hour and i have to press the off button for 3 secs because the SBBOD won't force quit. it crashes even when im only on safari looking at forums.
    HELP???!!!!
    :apple:Haru:apple:
     
  2. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #2
    Computer crashes, or Safari crashes?
    What do the crashlogs say?
     
  3. Haruhi thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    #3
    Don't know what a crashlog is mate.
    The computer crashes.
     
  4. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
  5. Haruhi thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    #5
    Everything else freezes, finder freezes so no force quit... etc
     
  6. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
  7. Haruhi thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    #7
    Well I haven't changed my ram since I got my mac so I'd say it's :apple:Apple RAM?
     
  8. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #8
    Boot from your Installer DVD and run Disk Utility to "Repair Disk"
     
  9. Haruhi thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    #9
    I pressed something that seemed to be like it but seems to be something to do with the iPhone Sim in iPhone SDK, which I never used more than once and don't have anymore.

    PC:~ Haruhi$ /Developer/Platforms/Aspen.platform/Developer/SDKs/Aspen1.2.sdk/System/Library/CoreServices/ReportCrash ; exit;
    -bash: /Developer/Platforms/Aspen.platform/Developer/SDKs/Aspen1.2.sdk/System/Library/CoreServices/ReportCrash: Bad CPU type in executable
    logout

    [Process completed]

    Tried that, says all fine.
     
  10. kolax macrumors G3

    kolax

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #10
    Possible your RAM might have become a bit loose - what sort of Mac do you have and how old is it?
     
  11. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #11
    /Applications/Utilities/Console.app

    All the logs can be read there.
     
  12. Haruhi thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    #12
    Its a 120GB White MacBook from March 21, 2008.

    With around 90 gig free, :D
     
  13. Haruhi thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    #13
    I was wondering if this is a RAM problem?
    I don't know how much RAM I have... But my processor is 2.1GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
     
  14. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #14
    You said it was the default RAM that came with your Mac. It's not likely to be RAM in that case, though anything is possible. Reboot with your Installer DVD in and hold down the D key to boot to the hardware diagnostics.
     
  15. Haruhi thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
  16. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #16
    Create another user, login, and use that user. See if it crashes on you.

    If it does, then it's a system-wide problem and you should wiping and reinstalling and seeing if a vanilla system still does it.

    If not, then it's a problem with your primary user.

    Alternately, install OS X on an external drive and boot from that to see if it does it. If it does, then it's a hardware problem and you need to go to Apple. If not, it's something with your primary install.
     
  17. Haruhi thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
  18. Haruhi thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    #18
    Forgot to mention - windows XP runs really smoothly.
     

Share This Page