Really Slow Transfer rate in Transmission... :(

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by DirkBreeuwer, Nov 20, 2008.

  1. DirkBreeuwer macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    #1
    Hello, I am new to the Mac World. It has been the best computer experience in my life by the way! I've just had a couple bumps in the road: When I used Windows, Bitlord was mas favorite torrent client. Now that I switched to Mac I've been using Transmission. I like transmission ,but it downloads at 1/4 of my download speed and it does not keep a constant download rate. I am sure the problem is in Mac Os X or in Transmission, because if I run Windows (even in VMware fusion) I get my whole download speed. What do you recommend so I am able to download faster in Transmission?

    Thanks in advance,

    Dirk Breeuwer
     
  2. maclover001 macrumors 6502a

    maclover001

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    #2
    Open Transmission, and press Command + Comma, then click the Bandwidth tab. Make sure it is set to unlimited.

    Also make sure that turtle mode is turned off.
     
  3. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
  4. DirkBreeuwer thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    #4
    Weird, I did have Speed Limit mode set to 10kbps... I set it to 9999, but It still seems the same, jumps from 2kbps, to 35kbps, then down to 14kbps, and so on... (Randomly)


    I didn't foward any ports... would that be necesary?
     
  5. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #5
    Port forwarding is always necessary to use services through a router.
     
  6. DirkBreeuwer thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    #6
    Haha damm, I've been using services through a router all my life and I have't done it... :p.

    One question: Why do I have to forward ports in Transmission and not it Bitlord?

    Two question: haha, do you know any good guide in port forwarding for my needs ?
     
  7. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #7
    BitLord might be using some uPnP magic but I can't confirm that. Otherwise incoming requests aren't being listened to.

    My favorites are 27218 and 43413.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. NeoMayhem macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    #8
    What router do you have? If it supports upnp, then Transmission can do it for you.
     
  9. DirkBreeuwer thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    #9
    I have I speedtouch 500 Series. I am looking for a guide right now. Thanks for all the help... I'll post my progress
     
  10. DirkBreeuwer thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    #10
    Ok, so I followed a guide for my router, there weren't any specific instructions for Transmission. But I followed the instructions for BitTorrent, it seems easy, I just need to call my ISP and ask them for my DNS. Thanks for the help.
     
  11. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #11
    What do you need DNS information for?
     
  12. DirkBreeuwer thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    #12
    I needed my DNS to configure my internet connection and manually set an ip.

    Ok It didn't work. :(

    Here is what i did:

    1rst: Set my router to forward port 10696 and ip 192.168.1.69

    2nd: Set my ip to 192.168.1.69

    3rd: Set transmission port to 10696
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #13
    It's UDP not TCP.
     
  14. DirkBreeuwer thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    #14
    Ok, I did that and still no open port. I called my ISP and they told me I am behind a NAT, and my public ip is shared with other users. So whatever is configured in my router isn't what is directly shown on internet.

    My ISP sucks...

    I still need to figure why BitLord does work, and Transmission doesn't. Are there any other P2P clients that use the same protocol as BitLord?
     
  15. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #15
    Ah your ISP does suck putting you behind their NAT as well as your router's. Increase the number of connections.

    BitLord doesn't look that remarkable. I wouldn't use it over uTorrent or Transmission.
     

Share This Page