iPhone Really strange problems with evasi0n7 mobile substrate / spotlight respring. D:

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by iParis, Dec 23, 2013.

  1. iParis macrumors 68040

    iParis

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #1
    Okay, so every time I make mobile substrate work by reinstalling and using winterboard to respring, my phone does an odd little respring into safe mode if I type anything other than a space into spotlight. >.< I've tried restoring to 7.0.4 because I had previously done it over the air, then I restored from backup, then I performed the jailbreak again and got the same results. Then I did the same thing, except didn't restore from backup, yet I still got the same results, which is why now I have absolutely no idea what's up. I obviously know mobile substrate has issues, but I haven't heard of this one. It's so strange, my tweaks like adblocks, CarrierPidgeon, Front HDR, etc, all work, but my springboard crashes into safe mode every time I use spotlight.

    Anyway, any input would be much appreciated.
    inb4 there's already a thread on this / troubleshooting. I doubt I'll get much of a response from posting in an almost year old thread based on a past jailbreak.

    Thank you!
     
  2. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #2
    You are aware that using the current version of mobile substrate (which has not yet been updated to work correctly in iOS7) is causing these type issues for every tweak that relies on mobile substrate ?

    In other words - an update will be coming to fix this.
     
  3. iParis thread starter macrumors 68040

    iParis

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #3
    Just trying to isolate if waiting for the update is the only fix as I hadn't heard of this issue specifically. I don't even have to have a tweak enabled or installed, but if I have mobile substrate installed, reinstall it, then use winterboard to respring (and only to respring), I still get the problem.
     
  4. kevin001111 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    #4
    Good to know! Everything has been fine for me for the most part since the jailbreak except for this spotlight crash.. thanks for the info.

    sidenote: my sisters iphone 4 doesnt crash when I use her spotlight.. i dont know though maybe it has to do with
     
  5. iParis, Dec 23, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2013

    iParis thread starter macrumors 68040

    iParis

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #5
    Yep. Just double checked and uninstalled everything that would use mobile substrate (aside from winterboard because that's the only thing I have to respring and I don't have any winterboard themes enabled or installed) and I still get the issue.

    So you're getting the issue on your iPhone, but she isn't getting it on hers'? Does she have mobile substrate working to where compatible tweaks are enabled?
     
  6. kevin001111 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    #6
    Good point! just checked her Cydia<Manage<Packages page and (oddly) mobilesubstrate isnt even listed there... I figured itd be listed there and just not work like everyone elses... but for her its not there and spotlight works. BUT this sets her back because she cant install ANY tweaks because it checks to see if mobilesubstrate is there and it isnt.. Hopefully the mobilesubstrate update will fix both yours, mine, and my sisters problem!
     
  7. iParis thread starter macrumors 68040

    iParis

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #7
    Well she can install it separately if she really wants to. Merr. The only reason I'm so set on fixing this without an update is because of the people having success. At least I know once there is an update I'll be good and it's not because of my backup.
     
  8. kevin001111 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    #8
    I setup as a new device and this happened to me... know where i can get that for her? is there a repo or something?
     
  9. iParis thread starter macrumors 68040

    iParis

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #9
    So I figured it out. Download something else to respring with aside from Winterboard, delete Winterboard, get Mobile Substrate running (reinstall + respring if needed), test spotlight, win.

    ----------

    Oh, and you can get Mobile Substrate by searching Cydia.
     
  10. kevin001111, Dec 24, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2013

    kevin001111 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    #10
    Can I then reinstall winter board?

    Edit:this didn't work for me.. I'm gonna retry though when I'm off work.
     
  11. bobright macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #11
    I thought it wasn't released?
     
  12. kevin001111 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    #12
    I was able to uninstall winterboard and get my spotlight working but What about Winterboard? The first time i tried reinstalling it it broke spotlight again :( does this mean we cant use winterboard?
     
  13. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #13
    from what i heard from people's experiences, you can install winterboard but using it to apply themes does not work

    so for the moment, wait for the updated version of mobilesubstrate and winterboard to be released
     
  14. iParis thread starter macrumors 68040

    iParis

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #14
    Simply put, yes. Themes aren't working anyway and I'd rather have my spotlight working.
     
  15. erftbll81 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    #15
    this was happening to me too, i uninstalled everything trying to figure out what was causing it. Last app i uninstalled was winterboard, felt soo dumb. LOL
     
  16. kevin001111 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    #16
    have either of you used the app accelerate? If i have it on the fastest setting (Warp Speed) my phones screen lights up really quick after i lock it.. its really annoying and wasnt always there :(
     

Share This Page