Really strange WiFi activity

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by geolej, Oct 13, 2010.

  1. geolej macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    #1
    Heres my results:

    Mac:~ George$ ping 192.168.1.1
    PING 192.168.1.1 (192.168.1.1): 56 data bytes
    Request timeout for icmp_seq 0
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: icmp_seq=0 ttl=64 time=1315.742 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=316.799 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=922.713 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: icmp_seq=3 ttl=64 time=1476.553 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: icmp_seq=4 ttl=64 time=1961.859 ms
    Request timeout for icmp_seq 6
    Request timeout for icmp_seq 7
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: icmp_seq=5 ttl=64 time=3597.671 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: icmp_seq=6 ttl=64 time=2597.628 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: icmp_seq=8 ttl=64 time=617.355 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: icmp_seq=9 ttl=64 time=889.307 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: icmp_seq=10 ttl=64 time=2440.635 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: icmp_seq=12 ttl=64 time=509.568 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: icmp_seq=13 ttl=64 time=555.196 ms
    Request timeout for icmp_seq 15
    Request timeout for icmp_seq 16
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: icmp_seq=15 ttl=64 time=2293.130 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: icmp_seq=16 ttl=64 time=1374.360 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: icmp_seq=17 ttl=64 time=374.776 ms



    This has been happening a lot in the past week or two. No new electronics or the sort. I live in a house(so no neighbor interference) and am about 15 feet away from my router which is a Netgear WPN824v2.
     
  2. Opstech macrumors 6502a

    Opstech

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Location:
    California
    #2
    Does it slow down your internet browsing any?
     
  3. AdamRock macrumors 6502a

    AdamRock

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Location:
    Toronto
    #3
    macs hate netgear routers; check to see if theres a firmware update for your router...
     
  4. geolej thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    #4
    It slows down the internet down to the point where nothing loads whatsoever, until the ping goes back to normal. The routers firmware is all up to date. This has only been happening recently (past month) with no router changes in over two years. I have the late 09 mbp.
     
  5. Piplodocus macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    #5
    That'll probably be why me and my wife have been having so much trouble since we got Sky internet and it came with a netgear router then...
     
  6. AdamRock macrumors 6502a

    AdamRock

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Location:
    Toronto
    #6
    yeah im not sure why but most people who have netgear routers have issues with it and there macs, if you do a google search on you'll see that a lot of other people have same issues
     
  7. George Knighton macrumors 6502a

    George Knighton

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    #7
    Great. Now you tell me.

    :)
     

Share This Page