Reason for soldered CPU's in Macbooks (Pros)?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Jazwire, Feb 1, 2010.

  1. Jazwire macrumors 6502a

    Jazwire

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #1
    Any reason other than they want us to buy a new laptop every time we want a speed boost?

    Alot of PC laptops have upgradeable cpus why not macs?
     
  2. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #2
    That's pretty much it. Apple's business model is all about locking you in.
     
  3. m85476585 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    #3
    It makes a cheaper, smaller laptop. A socket takes up space and costs money.

    Do any laptops use a socketed mobile CPU, or are the only socketed ones desktop CPUs?
     
  4. Jazwire thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Jazwire

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #4
  5. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #5
    I don't think so, actually. ZIF connectors are usually thru-hole. Thru-hole soldering is a lot more expensive than a surface mount BGA.
     
  6. Cali3350 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    #6
    The vast majority of laptops in the world allow you to upgrade. Macs dont for a very good reason: The design of Macs is as tight as you can get, and anything that adds space is taken out. Dell ships 14 laptop models and each model allows both multiple cpus and often different sockets (the studio line can take a core 2 or a I5). Therefore they have space built into the design.
     
  7. Takashi macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    #7
    The solder the CPU mostly due to space and cost. Soldering keeps the costs down and space to a minimum. Most important of all, they keep curious hands from fittling around with the mac and damage it. Changing a CPU is not a simple task and require skilled hands. You can mess up a computer very good if the task is not performed correctly.
     
  8. ryannazaretian macrumors 6502a

    ryannazaretian

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Location:
    Mississippi
    #8
    I say it's due to space. The case is cramped as it is. Imagine adding a 1/4" thick piece of plastic between the logic board and the CPU. The whole case would have to be lifted up, or else Apple would have to do some nifty case work.
     

Share This Page