Rebuilding iMac; question re Lion

Discussion in 'iMac' started by cognus, May 1, 2012.

1. cognus macrumors newbie

Greetings friends
    I'm new here - been around iLounge a long time. I'm a pc tech among other things, not so much Mac tech since everyone knows that apple products are self-healing :D

Seriously, I have an iMac, 20", core duo, which I pulled data from for a customer - the drive was non-bootable. Data was ok, as it turned out, other than a few corrupt vids here and there which can probably be fixed. The drive was an older big/hot 3.5" and I shipped it back to the customer to just stash once the data was moved to his macbook.

I will rebuild this iMac with a 2.5 7200rpm hdd, 250gb and want to put Lion on the system. Do I understand correctly that I need to order the dvd/cd disc from the apple store? I poked around there [i have an account, though not setup for an iMac - ipod touch...] it appears the way apple wants me to do it is over the wire but the tutorials I have show a way to option the bios at install so that it assumes the old image is kaput. Which disc do I order and from whence?

thanks for this and the other helpful advice I'll glean from searching here.
    gracias
    C

2. monkeybagel macrumors 65816

Do you have any recovery DVDs for it?

Your options are to acquire Snow Leopard, update it to 10.6.6+ and purchase Lion from the App Store for $29.99, or order the Lion USB drive from Apple for $69.99.

3. Jozone macrumors 6502

Thats gonna be a problem, Lion requires Core2Duo+

4. cognus thread starter macrumors newbie

it is this model:
    iMac "Core 2 Duo" 2.4 20-Inch (Al) 2.4 GHz Core 2 Duo (T7700)

Intro Date: August 7, 2007 Disc Date: April 28, 2008
    Order No: MA877LL Model No: A1224 (EMC 2133)
    Subfamily: Mid-2007 Model ID: iMac7,1
    Std. RAM: 1 GB Std. VRAM: 256 MB
    Std. HD: 320 GB (7200 RPM) Std. Optical: 8X DL "SuperDrive"
    Complete iMac "Core 2 Duo" 2.4 20-Inch (Al) Specs

I'll be adding another 1GB