Received a small micro atx pc. What should I do?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Navdakilla, Apr 10, 2012.

1. Navdakilla macrumors 65816

So a friend of mine was throwing stuff out, and one of the items was this small core2duo dell pc. I told him to give it to me instead of tossing it (for a case of beer of course) so now I have this pc and not sure how I can have it fit into my apple ecosystem. Here is where I need all your help

I have a regular router, I was thinking of adding a storage drive to the pc and connect it to the router and create a time machine (is that possible?)

Another option if the previous isn't possible is to add a hard drive to the pc and turn it into a nas. Would I be able to do this? (and just have it show up on the finder as a external drive)? Sorry guys I'm a noob when it comes to this stuff so hopefully someone can help.

Also to add more information I currently have about 2tb of media (on a external connected to my iMac) that is not being backed up right now, I was going to buy a time capsule/nas once I got some money, but I think maybe I could use this pc somehow

2. atomicbloke macrumors member

You can paint an Apple logo on it and use it as a footstool.

3. Angelo95210 macrumors 6502a

Angelo95210

Install Debian on it and learn linux. You can do a file server this way...

4. waw74 macrumors 68030

as angelo said, install linux, i use ubunutu server (a flavor of debian)
    you can use either the server (command line only) or the gui version. but why waste all the processing on making pretty pictures that you'll never see.

you can then install a couple of programs, and use it for file sharing.

netatalk - apple file sharing, has Time machine support
    avahi - bonjour, so it will advertise itself on the network.

lots of guides on how to get it all setup on the web.