RECEIVED my NEW MBP 3/21 - HELP ME PLZZ!!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by amitdoc2b, Mar 21, 2008.

1. amitdoc2b macrumors 6502a

This is my first time purchasing an Apple computer. Its a 17" MBP Penryn with the LED backlighting from Apple in the mail today. Its beautiful! But I need some quick help:

1. On the bottom of the screen where it says finder, dashboard, email, safari, ichat, etc.. How do I add the AOL and Yahoo Messenger Icons (i downloaded the software and it works)? The icons for AOL and Yahoo Messenger only display down there when I open the program. Once I close the application it removes it from that row of icons at the bottom. I'd also like to know how to delete some of them?

2. How do I right click? I tried putting 2 fingers and clicking but nothing displays.

3. How do I check the temperature of my laptop like many of you do? Is that a program in the computer already? It got hot really quick on the left speaker side and the bottom of the screen when I first turned it on and is still hot. The bottom back side is also hot.

4. Finally, I would also like to know how to set the mouse pad to click on an icon, for example, via double-tapping (rather than clicking the plastic tapper in front of the mouse pad)?

Thanks!!

2. phungy macrumors 68020

phungy

1. Right-click and choose "Keep in Dock or Remove from Dock"
    2. Hold Control and click. You can change this to the double tap in System Preferences.
    3. To check the temperature, you will need to download a widget called iStat Pro.

3. DJJONES macrumors 6502

u have to drag the icon out of the package lol its a lil weird n u dont need aim u can use ichat instead of downloading aim

i new to mac also so i think i did it right

4. BikeSDP macrumors newbie

BikeSDP

I won't say RTFM, but as a recent switcher myself, I found David Pogue's Switching to the Mac very helpful in learning the nuances of OS X.