Recent Purchase

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by convert09, Apr 25, 2009.

1. convert09 macrumors member

convert09

In March 2009 I purchased my first Apple computer a MacBook 2.4 with 4GB memory. Climbing the learning curve has been a challenge, but I've made decent progress without paying the extra $$ to the Apple store. Fortunately, I have a couple of Mac gurus I can go to for help, but mostly I've learned by trial, error, frustration, reading ... more reading, etc.

After a month I don't really notice that I don't have a backspace key especially since a couple of days ago I found 'Control + H'.

In spite of the frustrations what finally and completely sold me on Apple was the hard drive swap I performed.

I've been using Windoze since the early 1990's and every OS upgrade I've done on the PC has had problems. Every hard drive upgrade I've done had some sort of problem. I resorted to detailed journals on the OS and HD specs so I could ensure a some sort of less painful upgrade/install. I still have those journals.

Performing the upgrade on the MacBook was a thousand times easier. Yeah, I had to look up procedures and such, but that was just reading on top of doing the actual job. Once I figured out how to proceed it was just a matter of waiting for the Mac to format the drive and install the OS. Never have I had such a painless HD install or OS install. Everything just worked.

Had I had difficulty in performing the above tasks I more than likely would have given the MacBook to my kid and I would have taken back my nine month old HP laptop.

2. Illicit macrumors 6502

I'm slightly confused by your post. Did you mean you didn't find a backspace key and resorted to using ctrl+h?
    Backspace is just the delete key.
    Fn+delete is a forward delete key similar to the del key on windows PCs.

Congrats on making the switch.

3. convert09 thread starter macrumors member

convert09