Recent "Virus Warning" in safari

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by GilesM, Jun 7, 2009.

  1. GilesM macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #1
    Recently both my wife, and my brother have been browsing the internet and one particular search engine (different unrelated searches) brought up a window within safari (with a safari icon) that said that the PC contained signs of viruses and malware.
    On each occasion I advised them not to click "OK" but to cancel out of the window and shut down safari session. then re-open Safari and go and get "iAntirus for MAC".
    Both did so and ran scans neither scan found anything on either machine.

    I am thinking that this is a trap laid to catch out PC users and have them download some king of nasty.
    Being as this is a MAC environment and that I have had both machines scanned with no result, am I correct? Is this a trap or is it a genuine Safari warning?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. glenncal macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    #2
    It's a trap for pc users. Your Mac isn't infected at all, so no worries :eek:
     
  3. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
  4. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
  5. GilesM thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #5
    Thank you all very much, just as I thought.
    Thanks again!
     
  6. gilbert1020 macrumors regular

    gilbert1020

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Location:
    California
    #6
    Definatly bogus.
    The wording it uses gives it away
    A "free scan" ?
    Why would they say free?
     
  7. GilesM thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #7
    Thanks all, this must be spread widely if you consider that it was just coincidence that my brother and wife came across it quite independently!

    Poor old PC users, I wonder how many have been caught out.
     
  8. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
  9. EmperorDarius macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    #9
    I think the should do an OS check before displaying that stuff.
     
  10. PeteB macrumors 6502a

    PeteB

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #10
    Given the large market share of MS (and basic gullibility), it doesn't really matter. Enough people will click on the link to download the trojan payload.
     
  11. i.shaun macrumors 6502a

    i.shaun

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #11
    first time I've seen a pop up, that's smart. Usually the warnings come in little windows that have a picture of a popup (you can see an "x" in the corner, then a title bar with an "x" above that)


    Not to mention most ads are old and designed with the old grey box style that windows used to use. I doubt those ads are as effective in XP or Vista. An actual window like that will trick a lot of people.


    Oh well, as long as you know what Anti-virus software you run on PC (or mac), you should be safe. That is, if you have Norton, and the pop up isn't from Norton, it should be ignored.
     
  12. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    I assume its a Javascript alert that will look native on any platform.
     
  13. Jethryn Freyman macrumors 68020

    Jethryn Freyman

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
  14. Eilissa macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    #14
    oops

    I have been searching for something about this because tonight I got that message on my MacBook. I understand that you said it's for Windows users. However I stupidly did not read the pop up box and instead pressed "ok". I am assuming if it was made for Windows I am perfectly ok, I just want to make sure. Sorry if this seems like a dumb question, I would just rather look silly than something be wrong.
     
  15. bchgoer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    #15
    I wonder about this for a windows mount

    If I have windows mounted through bootcamp, but I am actively using OSX, would the potential virus attach itself to the windows mount? I am running 10.5, but also have XP on the flip side. Makes you wonder, hmmmm...:eek:
     
  16. tdgrn macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Location:
    Little Rock, AR
    #16
    Unless you are using your Windows partition, you will not be affected by viruses. Don't worry about it if you are using OS X
     
  17. Jethryn Freyman macrumors 68020

    Jethryn Freyman

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #17
    You're fine.

    A trojan has to be written for OS X to affect it, and you have to download it, open it, and install it, using an administrator password.
     
  18. Pika macrumors 68000

    Pika

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #18
    With JavaScript, you can create all kinds of fake popup windows.
     

Share This Page