Recently got a Macbook

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by InfinityFX, Nov 12, 2010.

1. InfinityFX macrumors newbie

Hey guys, I'm new here so first off, time for an introduction: I'm new to Macs. I've had PCs for as long as I've had computers. I had a PowerMac G4 a couple years back, but I never used it. It was vastly slower than the other computer I had at the time (and overclocked Pentium D) and I didn't like OS X 10.1. However, recently I picked up a Macbook from a friend at school. It's (I think) a 2008 model, I know it's a Santa Rosa with a 2.4ghz Core 2 Duo P8600 (Penryn). It has 2GB of DDR2 667 (2x1GB) and a 250GB 5400RPM disk. It's running a fresh install of OS X 10.6.5.

It's fast enough for most things, but I'd like to give it a bit more of a kick. It's not going to be used for gaming, just general-purpose work (web browsing, word processing, maybe some flash games).

I figure the most logical thing to do at this point is to target the slow disk drive. A SSD is far too expensive if I am to get one that is large enough, and a standard HDD isn't really that much faster. Thus, my plan is to get a Seagate Momentus XT, probably the 250GB variant.

I'm probably also going to bulk up the memory. I think I'm going to replace one of the 1GB sticks with a 2GB one. Would 4GB make a huge difference vs 3GB, or would I be best off saving my money?

Also, this thing runs hot as hell. Like 90c loaded, and it's still loud as hell when under load. Anything I can do about this?

Also, any suggested programs that I put on it? I have MS Office 2011, OpenOffice, Mathematica, Firefox, and Chrome. Other than that, it's bone-stock.

2. leekohler macrumors G5

leekohler

Definitely up the RAM. It sounds like you'll be doing everything I would recommend. I can't answer you on the heat issue though.

3. mrsir2009 macrumors 604

mrsir2009

If you want to save a bit of cash, get 3GB. It will up your speed by 50% and it'll get all your tasks done no problem :)