Recommend a 15-inch MBP config

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ronaldcastillo, Dec 21, 2016.

  1. ronaldcastillo macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    #1
    I'm in the market for a new MacBook Pro with touch bar but need help with choosing the right configuration for my workforce.

    I'm a graphic designer (& I do a little photography on the side as well.)

    Programs I use daily:
    - InDesign / Lightroom / Illustration Photoshop (I normally use 2-3 of these programs opened at once.)
    - Safari (Just normal web browsing with a little of Netflix/YouTube time to time.)
    - iMessage
    - iTunes

    Space:
    I normally keep things backed up via iCloud Drive or Dropbox once I'm done with a project so any space would work.

    Can someone recommend a configuration (stock or BTO) that would work best? Planning on keeping this MacBook Pro for a good 3 years.
     
  2. iBrooker macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2016
    Location:
    Wales
    #2
    It all depends on your budget, but this generally works for most:

    Upgrade RAM -> GPU -> CPU -> HD

    Remember that 3.1 USB speeds are now excellent so buying an external SSD disk is a great idea (and much cheaper than upgrading the internal disk) and they'll come down in price over time too.

    I went for 16gb ram, 4gb gpu, 2.9 ghz and 512gb drive.
     
  3. deany macrumors 68030

    deany

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Location:
    North Wales
    #3
    "Workforce" do you mean staff, if so how many?
     
  4. ronaldcastillo thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    #4
    Sorry, I meant workflow. Just me, I do a lot of freelance work.
     
  5. Clint_Barton macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2016
    #5
    i honestly think that the base 2.6/256/450 would be fine
     
  6. deany macrumors 68030

    deany

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Location:
    North Wales
    #6
    Ok, thanks, I would go with @iBrooker "I went for 16gb ram, 4gb gpu, 2.9 ghz and 512gb drive."

    BUT go for 1TB with a five year plan, now SSDs are not upgradeable.
     

Share This Page