Recommend a good webhost for small sites, but with PHP and MySQL support

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by kernkraft, Apr 27, 2010.

1. kernkraft macrumors 68020

kernkraft

The title says everything. I need a webhost for a small portfolio - a couple of small firms, a couple of private sites, most of them are basic, few pages long. I have around a hundred domains, most of them are parking and waiting to be sold or are under development, so they would be pointing to the new server/webhost.

Because of a couple of basic webstores and Contact Us/Register pages, PHP and MySQL support is essential.

Any suggestions? I'm not ready to start my own server yet, as 1.) I am not a professional, it's only a hobby/second career for me, 2.) where I live in the UK, in rural Hampshire, we get a pathetically low bandwidth - it's around 0.7 Mbps. Also, I think that at least, for now, paying a basic/small business plan would be much more cost-efficient.

Thanks!

2. VeganWizard macrumors newbie

I use WebHostingPad for about half of a dozen sites. It's cheap and works fine for me.

I've also used Bluehost in the past. It was really good, too. I only moved to WebHostingPad because it was significantly less expensive.

Hope that helps.

3. MarketingGuy macrumors member

I tend to use RackSpace for a lot of my clients, who have large enterprise level websites. For smaller websites, including my own, I use Aplus.Net. I have also had a positive experience with DreamHost.com.

4. Hmac macrumors 68020

iPowerWeb. Been using them for several sites for years. Good customer service, very cost-effective.

http://www.ipowerweb.com/

5. definitive macrumors 68000

definitive

bluehost here. been using them for the past three years, and they've been pretty good, though i'm sure there are companies out there that offer same stuff for better prices (a year is about $105 after the first year contract runs out).

6. aerta macrumors newbie

web hosting