Recommend me a decent router PLEASE!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by iTone, Jul 9, 2008.

  1. iTone macrumors member

    iTone

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    CA.
    #1
    I am on my second Belkin router and i've had it. First the security wouldn't work, then on the second one i would get "address not found" constantly. :mad:

    Please recommend me a router that works well with my MacBook and my sisters Dell Vista desktop.

    Thanks,
    Off to return this Belkin brick.
     
  2. alexlovesmacs macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
  3. Chandler Adaway macrumors 6502a

    Chandler Adaway

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Location:
    Beaumont, TX
    #4
    I would go with Airport Extreme.
    And then get an airport express for airtunes. :p
     
  4. Siron macrumors 6502

    Siron

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #5
    Netgear with the Gigabit Ethernet and 80211.N
     
  5. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #6
    Airport Extreme Base Station:
    Wireless-N
    Gigabit Ethernet ports
    very stable
    Has WPA2
     
  6. ravenvii macrumors 604

    ravenvii

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Location:
    Melenkurion Skyweir
    #7
    I had good experience with Linksys routers, and great experiences with AirPort routers. The "good" and "great" correspond to their cost, as well :)
     
  7. iTone thread starter macrumors member

    iTone

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    CA.
    #8
    Thanks everyone. I'll give Linksys a try as i don't think i can toss out too much green for that AirPort.

    But i have another question. My sisters desktop has a Belkin USB adapter to receive the wifi signal and i am wondering, will that adapter pick up a Linksys signal?
     
  8. brvheart macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    #9
    it is the protocol that it relies on not brand -

    802.11X (this could be a,b,g or n)

    if the router is 802.11b and the card that she has is 802.11b or 802.11g then it will work...do you see what I am saying?
     
  9. iTone thread starter macrumors member

    iTone

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    CA.
  10. brvheart macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
  11. PcEhAoCsE macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    #12
    I know everyone already said Linksys, so I can't really through that much new info out there, but my friends all use the Linksys WRT54G, and I bought a Linksys WRT110. The 54Gs work well, and I have yet to set up the 110 but I read some good reviews on the machine. Should run you <$100.
     
  12. brvheart macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    #13
    linksys is owned by cisco, but I would go for a 802.11n (that will rub b and g also)
     
  13. Daringescape macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Location:
    CA
    #14
    Thats funny,

    I have a Belkin Pre-N Router that I have never had problems with (I have connected a ton of computers to it). I also just set up a D-link router for a friend today that was very easy.
     
  14. mediaguru macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Location:
    The middle of BentFork, TN
    #15
    One thing to keep in mind is that the Airgo "Pre-N" interface that the Belkin Pre-N router uses is NOT the same as the "Draft-N" used in modern Macs (or in later Belkin "N" routers, for that matter). The maximum connection speed using that router with the Airport adapters is 802.11G speed.

    I too used this router for a while, though I noticed some strange latency issues when using real-time video, etc.
     
  15. weckart macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    #16
    My tuppence worth:

    2 Netgear N routers, the box-type. Both ok whilst they worked, both died within 6 months, dropping connections for hours before they expired.

    Replaced with Belkin N router (not the pre-N nor N1) with 2 aeriels. This worked fine for a couple of weeks, now none of my Macs will keep a connection for more than a minute. Looking at the reviews on Amazon, this appears to be a common problem due to cheap electronics and crappy firmware on the Belkin.

    Airport Extreme BS would not set up properly - I have to accommodate a Windows user who wants to reserve a DNS address via ethernet and the AEBS could not distribute any DNS addresses over wireless after that. No idea why. Would be fine for a simple setup, I suppose.

    I am currently running my trusty old Airport Express from a switch attached to the Belkin. This works until I can replace the Belkin with something better.
     

Share This Page