Recommend me an external HDD!

Discussion in 'iMac' started by maskingtape123, Nov 27, 2014.

1. maskingtape123 macrumors newbie

Hey guys I need some advice and recommendation for an external HDD.

Here's my requirement:

(1) Compatible with iMac (May 2011)
    (2) Able to run on OSX 10.9.3
    (3) Since current iMac has got no USB 3.0 port, however prefer HDD to have USB 3.0 as standby.
    (4) Budget < US$120
    (5) Portability not a big issue since it serve as back-up + extra storage for my iMac, so will be parking at home most of the time.
    (6) Transfer speed not a major issue too, but I assume most HDD nowadays have decent speed?

With different brands having supporters each, it is hard to decide especially when I have little knowledge in external HDD.

After some read up and research, I have filter down to the following:

(1) WD My Passport for Mac 2TB - $89
    [​IMG]

(2) WD My Book Hard Drive for Mac 3 TB $119
    [​IMG]

(3) Seagate Backup Plus Slim 2 TB Portable External Hard Drive for Mac - $106
    [​IMG]

(4) Seagate Backup Plus 3TB Desktop External Hard Drive for Mac - $119
    [​IMG]

(5) G-Technology G-Drive 2TB (but overshot my budget, however if performance beats WD and SG, will be willing to pay more - $149)
    [​IMG]

The reason why I consider desktop HDD compared to portable ones because of more storage for cheaper price. However there is a need for external adapter, therefore not sure if will have any implications (e.g. if adapter spoilt, will I have a dead drive too?)

2. blueroom macrumors 603

blueroom

With USB 2.0 it'll be slow (~30MB R/W) regardless of your HDD choice. FW800 will have an edge as it's full duplex and less CPU overhead than USB 2.0. If you're using it as your boot partition it's going to feel a little slow.

http://www.pcworld.com/article/185415/article.html

The full size 3.5" drive enclosures are 7200RPM vs 5200 or 4800 2.5" drives, the 3.5" are faster all around but require more power hence the AC adapter.