Recommendation for a Tripod

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by Gator24765, Dec 11, 2011.

1. Gator24765 macrumors 6502a

Gator24765

I am looking for some recommendations for a tripod. Nothing extremely fancy cause i am a college student with not a lot of money.

I currently have two but they are both the cheap ones you buy at walmart with terrible panning and tilting.. not smooth at all

I am looking for one around $50 but is nice and sturdy..

something that can pan real smooth.

2. linuxcooldude macrumors 68020

Its doubtful you will get a smooth pan and/or sturdy at that price point. Unless perhaps you buy used, even then...

You can really get a nice one for the $170-$200 price range.

3. Zwhaler macrumors 603

Zwhaler

4. Nostromo macrumors 65816

Nostromo

I recommend Manfrotto, but the quoted tripod might be OK for the OP's sub-zero budget.

5. floh macrumors 6502

This looks like it might actually work, although I haven't tried it myself. I still want to recommend (if you can somehow afford it) to buy a tripod and head seperately, so you can switch out one or the other later when you have some money to spend. An okay head that I have used is this:
    Amazon Fluid Head (30$)
    And as a tripod with removable head, I could only find this here:
    Amazon tripod (40$)

There might be better ones to find out there. But I wanted to tell you that you should think about not getting a tripod on which you can never update to a better video head.

6. Gator24765 thread starter macrumors 6502a

Gator24765

Thats a good idea and the prices seem reasonable.

Now for the ones you posted, have you (or anyone reading this) actually used them?

If so, how were they?

7. thekev macrumors 604

thekev