Recommendations for a quality HD video camera?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by macuser453787, Jun 19, 2014.

1. macuser453787 macrumors 6502

Hello all! So I've been wanting to get into the wonderful world of videography for some time now, and I'd like some recommendations for a good quality HD (1080) video camera. Please keep in mind I'm new to this, so any input that I can understand, being a newbie to the field, is welcome.

I've been doing a little researching, and I see what I believe are a few basic features that are important -- aside from the very basic necessities like being able to capture high quality footage, for example:

-- Manual focus capability

-- DOF adjustment

-- Auxiliary mic connectivity

My intended use is for shooting a wide variety of footage, so ideally the camera should work well in a variety of conditions (but underwater isn't important as I don't plan on doing that sort of footage).

I have a budget in the sense that I'd like a great starter camera and I'd like to keep the cost down as much as possible, so it would be great to get something for not more than around $500-$700, however I recognize that even with the desired features noted above that my expectations may not be realistic within that price range...?

That being said, I did come across the Canon VIXIA HF G20 and it seems to be about what I'm looking for, although it's quite a bit more than what I initially hoped to spend (though I do like that it has the option to shoot 24fps). Anyway, I thought I'd come here to the pros to ask for your recommendations and input.

So, what are my options?

2. Zwhaler macrumors 603

Zwhaler