Recommendations for a Wireless Router [UK]

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by allan_zip, Apr 6, 2008.

  1. allan_zip macrumors regular

    allan_zip

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Location:
    Belfast, N. Ireland
    #1
    Can anyone recommend me a wireless router?
    I need something that woud cover a 5 room ground floor flat.
    I used to have a D-link DL-524 in my old house which worked ok on my old iBook, it was secure, easy to configure but didn't give a great signal upstairs. Not sure if the specs have changed much on my new card, i'm on the 2GHz Intel Core 2 Duo 13" MacBook with the built in card.
    Anyhow, hope someone can help out.
    Thanks in advance,
    Allan
     
  2. .Andy macrumors 68030

    .Andy

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Location:
    The Mergui Archipelago
    #2
    To get the obvious out of the way are you interested in either an airport express or airport extreme base station?
     
  3. allan_zip thread starter macrumors regular

    allan_zip

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Location:
    Belfast, N. Ireland
    #3
    To be honest I've never really looked into either of those. I guess the express would suit, there's only two macs in the flat. I'm as happy taking recommendations on non Apple products that will work with my Mac, cos they're generally cheaper.
    I'm getting Virgin Broadband in next tues so whatever i get will need to be compatible with their Modem as well.
     
  4. .Andy macrumors 68030

    .Andy

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Location:
    The Mergui Archipelago
    #4
    Cool I understand. I'll give you my recommendation for the express. I've got the older version before it's gone to 'n' speed and it has been great. It's really small and super-simple to configure with the apple software. You just plug in your modem, configure and you're good to go.

    Two bonuses are the ability to plug in a USB printer for wireless printing and a stereo/speakers for wireless streaming from iTunes. Again super easy to configure for both. Versatile little fellow and relatively cheap :).
     
  5. albusseverus macrumors 6502a

    albusseverus

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    #5
    only if you want gigabit or time capsule for back-up

    Frankly, if you were getting any signal upstairs, you were doing well. If you want gigabit wireless, you'll need to go to N and the Airport Extreme/Time Capsule.

    Otherwise, you may not need to change.

    Personally, I don't recommend wireless to anyone. Wired is more reliable, secure etc. I treat wireless as an add-on - for movable or occasional network occupants.

    Sooner or later, everyone puts in wires. Even the fabulous Mac Break Tech wireless network was replaced with wired - and the customer was adamant they didn't want any wires.
     
  6. allan_zip thread starter macrumors regular

    allan_zip

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Location:
    Belfast, N. Ireland
    #6
    Thanks. Yeah, I'm a little clueless regarding 802.11 stuff. No need for upstairs signals in this flat, so I might check eBay or macwarehouse for an older 'g' type express. I do need the wireless though, we're both on laptops and both need on. I broke the ethernet port on my old iBook (and a few ethernet cables!) with all the plugging in and out.
     
  7. zainjetha macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    #7
    Your best bet would be a Linksys WRTG54... It should provide you with good signal all over... Place it in the centre of the house. Its easy to configure and is one which is supported by all ISPs.. Highly recommended. If it doesnt get good signal, get a Linksys Access Point and join it to the main router (it will pick up existing wireless connection)...

    Airport Extreme has MTU issues.. Go linksys.. ISP will configure in no time. Never crashes - no restarts needed. Unlike Airport Extreme, if net goes down you wont have to restart.

    Extremely inexpensive - only £35..
     
  8. logana macrumors 65816

    logana

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #8
    Is it cable or adsl you are getting?

    If it is adsl there are other options.
     
  9. allan_zip thread starter macrumors regular

    allan_zip

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Location:
    Belfast, N. Ireland
    #9
    Just the basic broadband package which is cable, in fact the flat is already wired up by the previous owner, saving me the installation costs.


    I'll check out the linksys router.

    Thanks.
     
  10. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #10
  11. logana macrumors 65816

    logana

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #11
    If you don't need any wired (ethernet) access then all you need is a wireless access point which plugs into the Virgin modem.

    I can recommend the Buffalo WHR-G54S - genuine plug and play and a good signal strength too.

    Always lots on eBay and never very expensive.
     
  12. ipodtouchy333 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Location:
    US
    #12
    I just got a new Netgear one (the black one) and its great. So if you don't want an airport or whatever get one of these. I used to have a Linksys but it started to not work so I got this. Great investment!
     
  13. rmwebs macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    #13
    I've got a Netgear which replaced a crappy belkin. Don't get a belkin what ever you do. In the space of 2 years, they had to replace mine 3 times because it burnt out!

    The Netgear's been great (had it for about 4 years) however recently its been playing up (overheating I think) so will soon be replaced with a 802.11n - which will most likely be another Netgear, they are very reliable and support is relatively good. Much better than Belkin's crappy Indian "support" staff.

    Never used Linksys before, but they seem pretty popular, as do the buffalo routers.

    I'm sure which ever option you choose, it will be suitable. Just make sure you get one with at least 2 antennas, the more the better.
     
  14. allan_zip thread starter macrumors regular

    allan_zip

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Location:
    Belfast, N. Ireland
    #14
    Thanks for all the suggestions folks. Plenty to choose from out there!
    Think I'll go shopping now... Cheers.
     
  15. mogzieee macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #15
    I have a Netgear DG834G that came free with my AOL contract. Although the connection is frankly bollocks, the router is great... works with my xp desktop, my sisters Vista Sony Viao, and my MacBook all perfectly well.
     

Share This Page