Recommendations for learning Xcode and Git

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by Greencardman, Oct 16, 2012.

1. Greencardman macrumors 6502

What are some useful resources for learning Xcode and/or Git? Any book recommendations?

We use an open source back-end to produce our magazine and I've self-taught myself enough programming to get by and get our app in the App Store. I have trouble understanding what everything does in Xcode and I mess up often, which breaks our app, so I'm terribly afraid of touching things.

I also make little changes to the code here and there, like adding analytics, and then a new version of the open source code comes out and I have to go over my old code line by line to find out where I should copy and paste the bits that I added. This is unsustainable, so I'd like to learn how to manage my code so that I can merge two files, again, without breaking our app.

I don't need any books on programming, just Xcode and how things work. So what have you guys found useful?

2. CodeBreaker macrumors 6502

1. Disable Xcode's built in source control. It is PITA
    2. Use git flow (https://github.com/nvie/gitflow)
    3. If you are using third party libraries which have their own git, then to keep them updated, just add them as submodules to your git

3. dejo Moderator

dejo

Staff Member

Care to elaborate as to why you think Xcode's built-in source control is a PITA and how gitflow helps?

4. CodeBreaker macrumors 6502

I've had huge issues with Xcode in the past. It used to lose code whenever you changed a branch or created a new one. For small projects it may not be a big hassle, but for larger projects, a few missing lines can lead to big problems. Also, it used to crash many times while auto-merging.