Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

staggerlee41

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Sep 25, 2017
Pittsburgh, PA
As the title states, I am looking for I'm looking for recommendations on which Mini to use as a dedicated iTunes server for my music. I have an extensive iTunes Library of music I've collected through the years and have pretty much decided a Mini is the best way to go for my needs. I'm looking to free up space on my aging MBP in hopes of determining what my realistic needs will be for the next MBP purchase--but that's another topic :cool:

Also, I'm new to Mini's so please forgive my noobness. 2014 is one consideration for me, Apple has the following refurbished options I'm entertaining:

$419 - 4GB memory I could 500GB HD, and 1.4 i5. Is this going to cut it?
$509 - 8GB memory 500GB HD and 1.4 i5
$589 - 8GB memory 1TB HD and 2.6 i5

Which do you folks think is my best option? Is a 2.6 i5 going go benefit me over a 1.4 for my intended usage?

I'm assuming I can upgrade memory and could either use an external HD to put the iTunes Library on or upgrade the internal HD to SSD if needed.

In terms of interfacing with it, how do you guys do it? I'm thinking of a VNC like program that can be controlled either by an existing MBP or iPad? I have a bluetooth keyboard and mouse that I could use but would prefer avoid hooking it up to a monitor.

Any other considerations I should keep in mind?

Thanks!

chrfr

macrumors G5
Jul 11, 2009
As the title states, I am looking for I'm looking for recommendations on which Mini to use as a dedicated iTunes server for my music. I have an extensive iTunes Library of music I've collected through the years and have pretty much decided a Mini is the best way to go for my needs. I'm looking to free up space on my aging MBP in hopes of determining what my realistic needs will be for the next MBP purchase--but that's another topic :cool: