Recommendations on sub $500 HD Cam

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by clindner, Aug 4, 2010.

1. clindner macrumors regular

I hate to post another "which camera is best" thread, but I was hoping some folks who are using camcorders around the sub $500 price range could provide some feedback on their choices, and how things are going using iMovie 09 for editing.

I will be using it for filming youth football games, and doing quick post processing to generate DVDs for the coaching staff. I've been using a Sanyo Xacti VPC-HD1 for several years, and it does the job, but I'm looking for something a bit better. I will probably still use the Sanyo for some isolation shots on players to mix in with the basic play by play footage.

My biggest beef with the Sanyo has been my workflow. Maybe there was a better way, but I was sticking the SD card into my Mac and copying the files onto the hard drive. This took about 30-45 minutes. Then I would import into iMovie, which took another 30-45 minutes. Should I import directly off of the SD card and save time?

Anyway, if anyone has any thoughts along these lines with your camera, I would love to hear them!

2. Artful Dodger macrumors 68020

Artful Dodger

I can't recomend a sub $500 HD cam but I can just give you an idea of a work flow.
    Unless I have the time in between sessions I use the Archive in iMovie to store my video, which helps save space, directly from my SDHC cards, so it only takes me about 10-12mins. to transfer my video (about 14.7GB) to my drive and then later I can import the video into iMovie which will take time. I do it this way because I need my cards, camera and MBP during the events so for me this is easy. I don't import twice per se, just once. It is still compressed and then I import it into iMovie once I'm done for the day. Hope that made sense for you.