Recommended stats for Logic Pro X

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by Ryanwoloshen, Apr 19, 2014.

1. Ryanwoloshen macrumors newbie

Hello,

I am new to music production and want to start working on it. I want to use Logic Pro X and obviously need a computer. I'm looking at getting a 27 inch iMac or maybe a MacBook Pro. Either way I will most certainly install an SSD, so that's not so much of a concern. My question is, how much ram and which processor and graphics card (if the latter makes any difference in the performance of Logic) should I be looking at. I am aware that there will probably be a processor upgrade soon in the iMac, which I will probably wait for, and I am also a student, so I get a discount. I have heard people recommend 16 GB of ram and an i7 processor. I happen to think this is overkill as I know people run Logic Pro X on MacBook Airs, but I want the opinion of others out there. Thank you for your time.

Best regards,
    Ryan

2. fastlanephil macrumors 6502a

fastlanephil

The biggest difference between the i5 and i7 CPU is that the i7 has virtual cores besides the four physical cores. Does Logic Pro X uses those virtual cores efficiently for tasks like rendering to audio? I'm not sure as I don't use Logic Pro X but someone probably does know.

I would go with the 3TB Fusion drive myself because of all that storage but the SSD drives are very fast.

You can always set up a midi/audio LAN using Vienna Ensemble Pro and another PC down the road if more power is needed but it's probably best to buy as much computer as you can afford.

3. bwhli macrumors 6502a

bwhli