Record IOS device screen on Yosemite

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by daye, Jul 8, 2014.

  1. daye macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2013
    #1
    I have Yosemite ( DP3) installed on an old MACBOOK PRO ( Mid 2009) and IPHONE 4S on IOS 8 beta 3.

    I am trying to record iPhone 4S screen using Quicktime when connected to the Yosemite MACBOOK Pro, the QuickTime could not detect my iPhone . What is the problem?

    Does this feature require iPhone 5 and above or/and newer MACs ?
     
  2. ProphetX macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    #2

    Not sure if you've done this yet. But once you have quicktime open. Click the tab next to the red record button while your phone is connected to the computer via usb. You should see the phone as one of the options.
     
  3. daye thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2013
  4. Antoni Nygaard macrumors 6502a

    Antoni Nygaard

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Location:
    Denmark
    #4
    I have a MacBook Pro Early 2008 and iPhone 5 and it works, so maybe iPhone and above
     
  5. VanillaCrackerC macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    #5
    Works only with Lightning cables
     
  6. chrf097 macrumors 68040

    chrf097

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    #6
    Yeah, it requires iPhone 5 and newer because it's driven by Lightning. Probably has to do with how the data is transferred (i.e. 30-pin can't transfer video/audio over USB probably).
     
  7. daye thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2013
    #7
    Thanks for the information.

    Does this also true for the Handoff feature? I am trying to test that feature with my Macbook Air ( Mid 2011, support Bluetooth LE) with my iPhone 4S, no luck,

    the Macbook Air says it paired with my iPhone 4s, but it can not connect to it.
     
  8. chrf097 macrumors 68040

    chrf097

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    #8
    iPhone 4S doesn't support handoff since it doesn't support Bluetooth LE. You'll need an iOS device that can do AirDrop in order to use Handoff.
     
  9. daye thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2013
    #9
    Thanks, I thought the 4S is on the supported list.
     
  10. chrf097 macrumors 68040

    chrf097

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    #10
    Yeah, only devices from the iPhone 5, iPad 4, and iPod touch 5 on support BTLE, so if you decide to get a new iPhone then you'll get it!

    You'll still get SMS and Phone Calls however, which in my opinion is more valuable.
     
  11. VanillaCrackerC macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    #11
    You’re completely wrong. 4s has BT 4.0 with LE features and handoff support as well.
     
  12. Fenderf4i macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    #12
    It's amazing the amount of misinformation and people not knowing what they're talking about here, acting like they know.


    The 4S DOES have BT LE.
     
  13. chrf097 macrumors 68040

    chrf097

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    #13
    Alright alright calm down. I figured it didn't since it didn't support AirDrop and it's a 3 year old phone so it was a simple assumption.
     
  14. VanillaCrackerC, Jul 10, 2014
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2014

    VanillaCrackerC macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    #14
    Handoff not work for me (5s and MM 2012) and what your assumption is?
    Does my iPhone has wrong color? Or may be my mac mini power cable is too long?
    If all you write is assumptions why it looks like you know about what you writing?
     
  15. chrf097 macrumors 68040

    chrf097

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    #15
    Because what you've said is absolutely ridiculous and has literally no backing to it whatsoever.

    My "assumption" is valid because of the fact that AirDrop relys on Bluetooth 4.0 LE and the iPhone 4S doesn't support it, and the fact that the phone is 3 years old and came out around a time when nobody was really using BT LE and many people had yet to integrate it.

    Handoff doesn't work for you because it's currently a beta. Some people are reporting success and some people can't get it to work at all. Your argument against me however is just a fallacy.
     
  16. eduo macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2002
    Location:
    Mexico
    #16
    Your assumption is valid. It's your stating of it as fact in authoritative tone what is misleading and perfectly fits a "misinformation" label.

    I'm having this same problem with a 5S with 8.1, an Apple lightning cable and Yosemite*on a Late 2008 iMac. This is the only thread I've found where someone seems to be having problems.

    Is there any place where "minimum requirements" for this are listed? Quicktime of course just doesn't list the device. Other than that iTunes sync perfectly and Image Capture shows its contents as well.

    The only thing I can see unusual is that the phone always asks me to "trust" the computer and if I don't the Mac will say the device is locked (but it isn't). I have also tried to fix this without any luck either.
     

Share This Page