Recording Drums Advice

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by drumforfun19, Apr 18, 2007.

  1. drumforfun19 macrumors regular

    drumforfun19

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    #1
    Im interested in recording some drums to my MBP using either Garage band or preferably Logic Pro. But what's the best way of Doing this?

    I was thinking of running all the mikes to the PA and then running that into maybe a preamp and then to my MBP. Am I being retarded or would this work well? I know it would only be one track for the whole drum part, so any advice would be appreciated!

    -Mike:apple:
     
  2. zimv20 macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    toronto
    #2
    it's a big topic, but do yourself a favor and record separate tracks. forgot the PA, too, get some halfway decent pre's / converters.

    you need to state a budget and how many mics you're going to use.
     
  3. grum macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    #3
    The simplest way would be to have the mics going into the desk (there is a desk?) which is connected to the pa. You could just route a stereo mix out of the desk into the line in on your mbp. Im not sure what the quality would be like though - ideally i think you would want some sort of external usb or firewire soundcard to get the audio into your mbp. I have a presonus firebox and it works great.
     
  4. grum macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    #4
    that then requires a multi-input external soundcard, which is not cheap. Sounds like he wants to do it on a budget.
     
  5. drumforfun19 thread starter macrumors regular

    drumforfun19

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    #5
    Yeah, a really strickt budget. Mainly I wanted to try and use what I have and buy a halfway decent Preamp. This isn't a professional production and I don't know much about recording drums.

    Thanks alot for helping me out though.
     
  6. Killyp macrumors 68040

    Killyp

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    #6
    I was using exactly the setup I'm goind to describe a few hours ago for recording drums.... while also recording bass, two guitars, vocals and keys... at the same time. You should find it pretty easy, it's very flexible.

    Get yourself one of these:

    [​IMG]

    Quality wise, it seems better than most budget desks, but what makes it pretty cool is that it has Firewire connections. You simply hook a single cable between your MacBook Pro and the mixer (as I do), and each channel on the mixing desk appears as a separate input in Logic.

    DON'T record all the drums as one single track! It'll sound appalling whatever you do!

    Also, if you can afford them, get this drum mic kit. You get a kick mic, and four clip-on mics, one for snare, three for toms. Then get these as 'overheads' and two mic stands to go with them. Basically, you place them over the top of the drum kit like this:

    [​IMG].

    Check this site for mic placement:

    Websitey linkey thingy

    =]
     
  7. zimv20 macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    toronto
    #7
    yeah, but budget doesn't mean bad practices. separate tracks via bad pre's is more desirable than pre-mixed tracks through a good pre. imho.
     
  8. bartelby macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    #8
    Here's Steve Albini's tips on recording drums:

     
  9. drumforfun19 thread starter macrumors regular

    drumforfun19

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    #9
    Thanks dude. that pretty much fits what I was looking for. easy and cheap. I already have (borrowing) drum mic's. And I know it's a bad to do a single track for drums, but I wasn't sure what my budget options really were. thanks guys.
     
  10. grum macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    #10
    Not sure if I agree that recording drums as one channel is necessarily going to sound horrible. A pair of decent overheads recorded as a stereo track can sound pretty good imo. Depends on the room and the kind of drum sound you are going for of course.
     
  11. zimv20 macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    toronto
    #11
    it's not that it might sound horrible -- it might sound great. but you're really hamstringing yourself at mixtime. "gee, i'd like to make the toms louder there -- oops, i can't!" or "that snare needs more reverb -- oh crap, can't do it".
     
  12. grum macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    #12
    true but many great recordings have been done in this way in the past. Lots of jazz drums are still recorded just with a stereo pair.
     
  13. zimv20 macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    toronto
    #13
    yep. heck, not too long ago i recorded a jazz quartet with 3 mics.

    BUT, such setups have their place. most typically, we tracks drums with at least 4 mics, if not more. and in this case, i don't see the OP asking how to arrange all the acoustic musicians around a single mic to go for that '30s live-to-broadcast radio sound...
     
  14. buswheel macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #14
    The main thing with miking a kit is to get the space you want. If you are making a stereo recording I would suggest 4 channels is the minimum

    1 - Kick
    2 - Snare
    3/4 - Overheads

    If you have the money I would then also then go for the hi-hat, then start micing up the toms - but only do this if you can mic all of them.

    If you are mono recording however you may be able to get away with 3 by removing one of the overheads - but this will depend on how your drummer plays, if like most drummers they like to spread out you may still want to go with the two overheads.
     
  15. quigleybc macrumors 68030

    quigleybc

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Location:
    Beautiful Vancouver British Columbia, Canada
    #15
    I'm going to record my drums soon,

    I'm just going to rent a full drum mic kit, firewire board and all the fixens for about three days and do it to it

    done it before and they're good mic's

    costs me around $75.00 - $100.00
     
  16. grum macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    #16
    agreed :D
     
  17. imacgeek macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    #17
    Lots of Help but...

    Hey guys I read through the posts and I am having a similar problem. I have a full set of drum mics (many of the ones said above) and a PreSonus Fire Studio Project to record with.

    Is there a way for me to use this stuff to record my drums on more than one track. I have been doing it on one track for a while now and its nearly impossible to change timing or add anything to my individual tracks.
     
  18. beyonce50 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    #18
    would logic pro work for recording drums??? and if so how??

    well killyp said soemthing about a single cable but never said the name of the cable to use for the mixer to the computer....and i killyp also said that logic would seperate the drum mics....just wanted to see if it was true.....anybodys help please
     
  19. beyonce50 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    #19
    explain how to record drums in logic pro please

    Quality wise, it seems better than most budget desks, but what makes it pretty cool is that it has Firewire connections. You simply hook a single cable between your MacBook Pro and the mixer (as I do), and each channel on the mixing desk appears as a separate input in Logic.

    DON'T record all the drums as one single track! It'll sound appalling whatever you do!


    =][/QUOTE] what is the cord for that mixer to plug in to the computer and how does logic recognize the mixer???
     
  20. mesq macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    #20
    The mixer he is talking about is a firewire mixer.So it sends the information to logic as separate audio input. This won't work on a mixer that doesnt have firewire out.
     
  21. mesq macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    #21
    How do you have this stuff and not know how to use it?>

    I don't understand how you would be recording Drums to one track by default if you are using multiple mics.
     
  22. mikes70mustang macrumors 68000

    mikes70mustang

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Location:
    US
    #22
    Im going to say that even if you do as some people have said, it will all sound like crap if you dont find some sort of treated drum cage/room.
     
  23. jamesdrummer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    #23
    recording drums with apple mac book and usb mixer

    hey guys. im new to this forum as of now..
    i bought an alesis multimix 8 channel usb interface mixer today. and in 2 weeks ill be getting my 13" mac book pro..

    can some1 give me a step by step broken down way to record my drums into garage band so i can mix and make proper drum videos ? :)
    please help me out :)
     

Share This Page