Recording internally

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by Tech198, Nov 7, 2013.

  1. Tech198, Nov 7, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2013

    Tech198 macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    #1
    Hi all..

    I know and use Audacity on mac to record from external sources, but te feature to record to internally (aka , internet, streams etc) only available for Windows version..

    On Mac, i tried Soundflower, and while it works with Mavericks, (after getting past the "security certificate has expired" warning), it did work with Quicktime, but I hear pops.

    Any other free open source software i could try ?

    I was also thinking firing up a VM and running Audacity under Windows, but dunno weather that would work.
     
  2. Boyd01 macrumors 68040

    Boyd01

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Location:
    New Jersey Pine Barrens
    #2
    I have been using Piezo. You can record up to 10 minutes for free I think, but I bought a license for $15.
     
  3. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #3
    A cable that connects the output of the audio interface to the input works. It seems silly but analog links work without software.
     
  4. tjgonzo macrumors member

    tjgonzo

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Location:
    California
    #4
    I use Audio Hijack, it works great! Very high quality and lots of options. The free version only allows for 8 minutes for a single recording but, you can start the recording over again and use the program to it's full potential.
     
  5. Diastro macrumors member

    Diastro

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Location:
    Veldhoven, the Netherlands
    #5
    Be mindful of feedback loops. This could cause damage to the audio components.
     
  6. sherryspencer7 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    #6
    Piezo suits best for this purpose. However, it requires a license costs 15$. It can record freely up to 10 minutes.
     
  7. gannonsamuel macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    #7
    Pops and clicks could be due to trying to record at a different sample rate in audacity to the one of whatever your playing...

    most internets things are gonna be 44.1Khz you'll have to check quicktimes
     

Share This Page