Recording rap vocals in logic

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by DIMEZ, Dec 15, 2010.

1. DIMEZ macrumors 6502a

DIMEZ

Ok, before I start I will list the equipment used.
    Macbookpro Unibody running Logic 9
    Focusrite Saffire audio interface
    Rode Nt1a Microphone

I am new to logic and want to mix down my raw vocals. Can anyone help with what setting or filters i should use?

How do a give my vocals more of a full sound so it doesn't sound like they're over powering the music.

Any help or advice would be appreciated! Thanks

2. BlackJack325 macrumors member

Id suggest you look up some tutorials online, but pretty much just listen to the music as a whole.

Is the music/beats already on Logic?
    and you already recorded the vocals?

The only "effects" id use on vocals are Reverb and a touch of delay. Mess with the compressor/limiter for a bit. Unless you want some hints of distortion on vocals for a bit extra. Its up to you

3. Xavier macrumors 68020

Reverb. I wouldn't compress vocals, and use some EQ.

4. DIMEZ thread starter macrumors 6502a

DIMEZ

Yeah i read some tutorials, even download a few channel strip settings but I figured I would find people with more experience on here so I thought I would ask.

The beat was already made so I tracked it out in logic.

Yes i recorded the vocals already.

thanks for the suggestions so far, I will try it out

5. zimv20 macrumors 601

zimv20

if you post a sample of the vocal and a sample of what you want it to sound like, people can be specific about what to try.

6. paolo- macrumors 6502a

The few times I recorded rap vocals for a friend of mine who came in with pre made beats, he recorded on two tracks. One main vocal and one where he'd punch up certain words or parts, I think that's called adlibbing. I found the adlib track to add another dimension to the mix.