recording to mac

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by ATLMacUser, Jul 28, 2008.

  1. ATLMacUser macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    #1
    I have a digital voice recorder and would like to record contents onto my Mac. The digital voice recorder has a stereo jack which I'm guessing would plug up to the mic input on the mac but after that I'm a clueless...

    thanks...
     
  2. i.shaun macrumors 6502a

    i.shaun

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    Audio Hijack Pro (shareware around $15-$20 American) can probably do it.

    It can record Audio from applications, or just record system audio.


    I use it to record system audio from youtube videos whenever I want a certain song.

    So far I just got a few Live Nightwish songs, and a techno song created almost entirely from gun sound effects from Call Of Duty 4: Modern Warefare

    Saves me the trouble of downloading it, then stripping the audio, and saving it. I simply record it, and import it into iTunes.
     
  3. nanvinnie macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    #3
    there's always garageband...
     
  4. i.shaun macrumors 6502a

    i.shaun

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #4
    Hahaha I forgot about Garageband

    Yeah, open it, and use that to record from your microphone line. It should work fine for anything connected to the line-in, or the built-in microphone if you have one. I used to use it with an external audio device that I could run audio signals through. I purchased Audio Hijack Pro because it did the same thing, but much more efficiently.

    As for actually hooking up to the mic port and recording, it should work fine -- that's how people get voice onto podcasts (if it's not already there).
     
  5. ATLMacUser thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
  6. sunfast macrumors 68020

    sunfast

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Location:
    London
  7. ATLMacUser thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    #7
    I DLed Audacity... is there a way to record to MP3 I think it defaults to WAV which are huge... this is just simple voice I'm doing.
     
  8. sunfast macrumors 68020

    sunfast

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #8
    You need to add the optional LAME encoder library to export as mp3 with Audacity
     

Share This Page