Recording Vinyl

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by t-rev, May 29, 2009.

1. t-rev macrumors member

I have a SoundMaster record recorder. I used Adacity and the USB port to record a few of my old vinyl records. I now have Adobe Soundboard or Roxio CD Spin Doctor. The SoundMaster has the red/white RCA cables, what would I need in order to plug that into my uMBP? Is there some sort of adapter that would improve the quality?

2. ChrisA macrumors G4

So this turn table has both a USB and an audio ooutput and you are not hapy with the quality of the built-in audio interface and want to use the audio RCA cable to some other interface? Is that it?

Do you know the problem is with the USB interface and not with the tone arm, cartridge or the turn table itself. Or maybe the record is just worn out?

Do you have a budject? I'm thinking you will need so spend over $200 for a good interface that does 24-bits and 192 samples per second. But then you are going to also want to upgrade the other parts and the sky is the limit with audiophile grade turn tables

3. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

GoCubsGo

Just as ChrisA eventually said, you need an interface of sorts to use RCA cables, otherwise, you're destined to use USB forever ... for e ver.

4. t-rev thread starter macrumors member

I guess I shouldn't say that I'm not happy with the USB interface, I thought that the RCA route might produce a little better sound and was wondering exactly what the correct cable I need for that is.

5. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

GoCubsGo