Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

whisperblues

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 15, 2008
I'm not good at this sort of thing at all, but my partner is living long distance right now and I'm sending him a mix c.d. and I wanted to record a little voice introduction and put it on the c.d. but I can't figure out how to record my voice on garage band and then convert it to mp3 or whatever it needs to be burned onto a c.d., any help would be very appreciated!

superleccy

macrumors 6502a
Oct 31, 2004
That there big London
If you've got a Laptop or iMac, use the built-in Mic. If you've got a Mini or Pro, you'll need an external Mic.

Create a new project with one track, and make sure it's a real instrument track. Set the input to "Channel 1 (Mono)" (this should be your built-in Mic). Press record. Tell your loved one how much you love him and how great the mix CD is. Press stop (um, actually, press Play - this stops it). Trim the recorded track to your liking using Edit > Split. Play around a bit. Do Share > Send song to iTunes.

Actually, I think Audacity would be more flexible for what you want, and it's free. Go search! :p

SL

whisperblues

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 15, 2008
thank you! but, sorry I'm so bad at computer-y things but how do I make sure it's one track, and how do I make it a real instrument track?

superleccy

macrumors 6502a
Oct 31, 2004
That there big London
If your version of Garage Band is like mine (I'm on '06 - v3.0.5), then when you start a new project, by default it gives you one "software instrument track" - a grand piano. This is no good to you - delete it (Track > Delete Track).

Then when you create a new track (the '+' button at bottom left), it asks you whether you want a software instrument track or a real instrument track.