Recovery Disk Missing...

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by 262Runnr, Oct 6, 2012.

  1. 262Runnr macrumors regular

    262Runnr

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Location:
    NC
    #1
    OK, so I just recently installed an SSD and everything seems to be working great except for the fact that the "recovery disk" is missing.
    I rebooted my machine and held down the "option" key after I heard the sound and the option to boot from Recovery is gone...:(
    I cloned the new SSD with Carbon Copy but apparently it didn't clone the recovery disk onto the new SSD. I already formatted the original HDD that was in there and am using it in the Optibay for movies.
     
  2. ZenErik macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #2
    Yea. I did the same thing and have no recovery disk either. It's not super important, but it would be nice to have back.
     
  3. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #3
    You should check your CCC settings, because it does clone the recovery partition.

    Cloning Apple's Recovery HD partition
     
  4. thatoneguy82 macrumors 68000

    thatoneguy82

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Location:
    Beach Cities, CA
    #4
    When you cloned your disk, did you go to Disk Manager portion to install/copy the recovery partition? It should have given you a really big warning to do so. The "regular" cloning process only copies the main partition. You can always re-install OSX to get it back.
     
  5. 262Runnr thread starter macrumors regular

    262Runnr

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Location:
    NC
    #5
    Thanks for the replies.
    I re-installed Mountain Lion onto a backup USB drive and created a USB recovery disk on an 8GB thumb drive.
    So, if I'm understanding all this correctly..If my OS got corrupted and my computer can't boot, I can now use the thumb drive to boot to and install a fresh copy of mountain lion.
     
  6. thatoneguy82 macrumors 68000

    thatoneguy82

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Location:
    Beach Cities, CA
    #6
    Correct. During install, you specify which disk to install ML on, after you format. Just make sure the USB is 100% bootable.
     

Share This Page