Recovery Partition OSX Update?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by sransom, Jul 16, 2012.

1. sransom macrumors newbie

sransom

Hi I'm a newbie to Apple Macbooks so please forgive my lack of knowledge.

I've ordered the Macbook Pro Retina. I understand the recovery setup is included on a hidden partition of the SSD.

At present the Macbooks are shipping with OSX Lion. But with free upgrade to Mountain Lion when it is released.

My question is.. When the I later update the OS to Mountain Lion, would it also update the recovery partition to a Mountain Lion recovery, or will it remain as Lion?

Obviously in the future if I have to restore the machine at any point, I wouldn't want to have to restore back to Lion, before having to update again to Mountain Lion.

Thanks in advance for your replies.

2. Weaselboy Moderator

Weaselboy

Staff Member

The recovery partition on the new Macs is not like that of many Windows based OEM computers with the whole OS on a recovery partition. The Mac recovery partition only contains a small set of utilities that allows you to format a disk and get online and redownload the OS. So with your new Mac the OS is not actually on the recovery partition at all.

When you upgrade to Mountain Lion, it will update the recovery partition to a new Mountain Lion version of recovery, but that still does not contain the entire OS, it will be the same utility set that allows you to get online and redownload Mountain Lion.

3. sransom thread starter macrumors newbie

sransom

Perfect, thank you Weaselboy for your reply and extra explaination. Exactly the info I was after! :)

4. Irock619 macrumors 68000

Irock619

The Internet recovery disk utility is a great feature. However when your HDD or SSD fails the partition can go along with it. When ML is released I would make a copy of the partition on a thumb drive using this method......http://support.apple.com/kb/DL1433

I'd imagine they would update the website once ML is released.