Red Alert 3 screen resolution problem on VMWare Fusion 2

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Bboywake, Feb 3, 2009.

  1. Bboywake macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    #1
    I have been trying to play Red Alert 3 on my new MBP Unibody in Windows XP through VMWare Fusion 2 and I was looking through old posts on here and couldn't find anyone with the same problem I'm having.

    Whenever I try to adjust the screen resolution settings and click confirm it crashes my virtual machine. I get the blue screen of death telling me windows had to shut down yada yada yada. I believe I should be able to run it with the graphics settings pretty high and the resolution at 1440x900, but it crashes windows, and makes me want to punch something :mad:

    Also if I have the graphics settings above the low setting then I start having some weird problems like everything being really light colored, and vertical-ish lines running through everything but the actual characters.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. doctoree macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Location:
    Secret lair/ Earthmiddlepoint
    #2
    Do you know running damanding software like RA3 through a virtual machine is an incredible waste of system resources? I reccomend booting into XP through bootcamp every now and then for gaming.
     
  3. Haephestos macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    #3
    As said above, you should never run demanding games through VMWare Fusion 2, because of resource wastage. BTW, the strange vertical lines are called artifacts and are caused by overheating / highly overburdened graphics hardware.
     
  4. ShadowXOR macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Location:
    Washington
    #4
    As everyone said above, when running a new/graphically intensive game do not do it virtually. Use Boot Camp.
     
  5. Amdahl macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    #5
    It probably won't help an OS crash, but you might make sure you've got the latest patch for RA3.
     
  6. micsaund macrumors 6502

    micsaund

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    #6
    The virtual video card that VMware exposes to the VM supports a subset of DirectX, so a very new game like RA3 is going to be likely to have problems. Fusion is awesome for most things, but like others have said, get a Bootcamp partition going for your gaming.

    For what it's worth, I run things like GalCiv2 and some other older/less demanding games in Fusion just fine.

    Mike
     

Share This Page