Red line on Cinema Display

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Ih8reno, Jun 9, 2014.

  1. Ih8reno macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #1
    Hi guys

    I recently acquired a Cinema Display for a dirt cheap price but it had a catch it has a red line going down the screen. Would anyone know if this can be fixed or is it something I should get used to. I really don't want to spend a lot on this.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #2
    Does the line ever move?
     
  3. Ih8reno thread starter macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #3
    Nope, stays the same connected to my powermac g5 as it was to the sellers mac.
     
  4. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #4
    I am going to throw a wild guess and figure the LCD panel is bad. Personally, I wouldn't worry about it.

    I assume you had full knowledge of this defect when buying the display. How much did you pay for this particular monitor and what model is it?
     
  5. Ih8reno thread starter macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #5
    Full knowledge and yes I can live with it, just thought I'd see if anything could be done.

    It's a 2004 20inch A1081 DVI model. I got it and the power brick for $25
     
  6. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #6
    I will look about LCD replacement. Being a 2004 model and the great price you paid, I would just enjoy the monitor until it gets worse, if it gets worse.

    $25 is a good deal by the way.

    I see a new panel going for ~$40.00 on eBay right now!
     
  7. Ih8reno thread starter macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #7
    Yeah that's why I grabbed it, just the adapter is worth more then what I paid.
     
  8. Ih8reno thread starter macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #8
    One question though, how come my mouse goes right over the line and does not seem affected?

    [​IMG]
     
  9. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #9
    Try setting the wallpaper to a solid black. It is possible that the pixels are dead in certain colors. Also the red color is probably absorbed by the black cursor.
     
  10. Ih8reno thread starter macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #10
    I've noticed that sometimes the line shows up as green when it has a dark color on the screen.
     
  11. sprezz macrumors regular

    sprezz

    Joined:
    May 28, 2014
    Location:
    Zurich, Switzerland
    #11
    easy way to find out, make a screenshot and move the image while zooming in to the affected place... if it's not on the screenshot, its your screen... simple.
     
  12. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #12
    It is a defect some LCDs get when they age. I don't think it has anything to do with the cable that would be the easier fix.

    OP has seen this display on two different Macs. That being said, that is some good advice for other situations.
     
  13. hfg macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #13
    This might be of interest ...

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H2jGvLnKRiM

    I have not tried it nor do I endorse this method, but I have heard that "massaging" the edge of the display where the line is sometimes fixes the connections.
     
  14. Ih8reno thread starter macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #14
    Interesting video, not sure if try those methods though. Probably just live with it.
     
  15. Ih8reno, Jun 26, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2014

    Ih8reno thread starter macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #15
    Red line on Cinema Display

    Problem got solved, found an identical one in my area in perfect condition for the same price. Selling the other one and it covers all the costs and then some!
     
  16. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #16
    Works out well! How much is the new one?
     
  17. Ih8reno thread starter macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
  18. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #18
    Nice deal!
     

Share This Page