redsn0w 0.9 Beta (any verdicts?!)

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Bl0ckHe1d, Jan 21, 2010.

  1. Bl0ckHe1d macrumors 6502

    Bl0ckHe1d

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Location:
    Caledonia
    #1
    has anybody tried the redsn0w 0.9 beta software?

    if so...is there a recommended IPSW file that should be used and what was the outcome?? any feedback is much appreciated :)
     
  2. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #2
    What do you mean? You use the appropriate official 3.1.2 ipsw for your phone. If you are interested in beta testing, you should find CPICH3G on irc and ask to beta test it.
     
  3. Bl0ckHe1d thread starter macrumors 6502

    Bl0ckHe1d

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Location:
    Caledonia
    #3
    following up on MuscleNerds tweet "redsn0w 0.9 public beta release http://is.gd/6Jarm . JB, unlock, boot logos _ more (not tethered). Mac+Win"

    downloaded the redsn0w 0.9 public beta from the above link, executed the file and it looks similar to redsn0w 0.8 where you are asked to browse for an IPSW file custom the bootlogo etc. i think i'll remain patient until the alpha version is released as i am sure it was quoted somewhere (correct me if an worng!) that redsn0w 0.9 does not require to perform a full restore but runs similar to blackra1n!
     
  4. kAoTiX macrumors 6502

    kAoTiX

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    #4
    I too would like to know if anyone has tried it. I know it's not untethered for 3GS but I have people that ask me to jailbreak their phones and they're on 3.1.2 so I would appreciate some feedback from anyone.

    I read that it takes longer than blackra1n but obviously, it always did. (30 seconds is what i read) If it's more stable than blackra1n then it could be an alternative. Blackra1n is still almost 100% usable, just annoying when WiFi doesn't work right after.
     
  5. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #5
    I still don't know what you mean by "recommended IPSW." You use the official one iTunes downloaded from Apple. The precise version will depend on what phone you have.

    Please also note that alpha versions of software come before betas; they are internal testing builds. I think what you mean is that you'll wait for the release version.
     
  6. Vonswanko macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    #6
    I have used the redsn0w beta Mac version. Works just as well as any other redsn0w. Very easy to use.

    Restore with official firmware, run redsn0w, point to official firmware, click some other little choices, go..

    I made this little vid all about it.

    Here
     
  7. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #7
    I used it on my 3GS (old bootrom) to change the boot logo.

    Ran it on a Intel MacBook, SL 10.6.2

    Checked the already Pwned box and it was quick and easy.
     
  8. iroger macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    #8
    Just tried redsn0w 0.9beta on a Windows xp, un-jailbroken iPhone 3GS (week 25). I selected the install Cydia. Followed the instruction. It took the iphone about 15min to reboot.

    The iphone looks the same. No icon for Cydia. So really cant tell if the iphone is jailbroken or not....

    So for Windows based, I don't think this works yet....
     
  9. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #9
    I can't believe MuscleNerd would have posted it, even for beta, if it didn't work.

    Did you follow a tutorial ? You didn't by chance check the already Pwned box did you ?
     
  10. Rusalka macrumors regular

    Rusalka

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    #10
    omg, I love it. Had to restore my phone last night 11:00pm, was up until 4:00am and it still wasn't working! I got o signal and couldn't make calls/texts.

    But 30 seconds of redsn0w and I'm set!! I never should've cheated on you, Dev Team!
     
  11. iroger macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    #11
    Yep, all I had check was the "install cydia".

    I checked all the YouTube videos, everything I see was with Macs. And if was with windows, they were using the check button for "already pawn".

    Any other windows users out there that successfully used redsn0w. If so, it would give me hope...
     
  12. iroger macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    #12
    I guess I should purchase a Mac... huh..
     
  13. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #13
    Well, I see a few other persons saying it didn't work under Windoze Vista 64 (horrible OS by the way), so you be the judge (including DevTeam Blog and other sites)

    And as far as getting a Mac, we have two iPhones (wife & I) and I specifically bought a Mac laptop just to use with jailbreaking and syncing. Look for a used one in great shape on Craigslist (I've had two now, both from Craigslist-iBook now MacBook)

    Apples to Apples you know the saying.... :D

    Beats using a PC with the iPhone every day of the week.
     
  14. i228 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    #14
    I tried to jailbreal a 3GS with redsn0w after experiencing issues with blackra1n. It simply did not work. The 3GS was a week 26 version and after selecting "Install Cydia" and clicking "Next" and putting the phone into DFU mode the screen went black but the phone was still on. After redsn0w did it's thing in the program nothing happened on the phone and eventually rebooting with no jailbreak present. Tried several times with the same results.
     
  15. iroger macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    #15
    Were you using Windows operating system or Mac..?
     
  16. B737 macrumors 6502a

    B737

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Location:
    Jersey Shore
    #16
    no luck here

    3GS week 26 build on windows 7 ran exe as Admin

    fresh install, restore and set up as new device on 3.1.2
    tried it with itunes running and tried it with all apple services off.

    ran Redsn0w 0.9 beta it got as far as 'uploading ramdisk' in the exe window after putting the device into recovery mode, and the iphone screen would just remain ON, but black. It would stay that way until I put it back into recovery mode. Even after the exe said it was finished. In their instructions is says you should have the ramdisk picture up on the device within about 30 seconds, i gave it much longer and hand no luck.

    tried it 4 times, gonna restore one last time and run blackra1n.

    i had my hopes up i was looking forward to switching back to Dev-Team :( maybe soon...
     
  17. yentrog31 macrumors regular

    yentrog31

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Location:
    RGGnDFW
    #17

    MuscleNerd
    What's Jailbreak?
    Join Date: Sep 2007
    Location: Los Angeles
    Posts: 22
    Thanks: 0
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts


    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    This issue with the 3GS should be fixed now (as of Saturday night). Please try out the newest beta download.



    believe it....he posted on MMI last nite.
     
  18. iroger macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    #18
    The newest beta does work great now (on Windows)..
     
  19. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #19
    Yea, looks like they fixed the 3GS problem with the new beta version.

    All those for whom it didn't work should get the "new" beta version and try again.

    Good Luck !
     
  20. NathanA macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    #20
    Haven't used it to do a full jailbreak since I haz 3GS that came with 3.0 originally and have no intention of upgrading my baseband, but I did use it to activate verbose boot mode, which I have to say I'm digging... :)

    At one point after a Power+Home forced-reboot I actually saw the OS initiate a fsck on the root filesystem during boot. That was fun to see, and explains why the phone can sometimes take longer to boot than at other times. :)

    -- Nathan
     
  21. pbateman macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    #21
    Just to confirm, I currently have 3.0 on my 3G since I have it unlocked with ultrasn0w.
    This redsn0w would only allow me to jailbreak the phone (if I was to upgrade to 3.1) correct?
    However if I upgrade to 3.1 i will lose my unlock and would have to wait until the next version of Ultrasn0w right?
    Just want to make sure this is correct, because if it is I don't want to risk losing my unlock and guess I'll have to wait until Unltrasn0w is updated before I upgrade to 3.1..
    Thanx
     
  22. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #22
    You are right that if you upgrade to 3.1.2 official you will lose your ability to unlock using ultrasn0w. There is an unlock for the new baseband (blacksn0w), but it causes a significant minority of users serious problems. If you rely on an unlock, I would only recommend upgrading using a pre-jailbroken custom firmware created in PwnageTool.
     
  23. i228 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    #23
    Yes I'm using Windows Vista

    I'm having this same exact problem.
     
  24. NathanA macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    #24
    Guys,

    Follow the instructions that redsn0w gives you when you run it, instead of ignoring them. To be more specific, if you have a 3GS, it doesn't tell you to put it into DFU mode. It is very clear that you need to put it into normal recovery mode, and gives you the step-by-step as to how to accomplish that. You don't jailbreak a 3GS with DFU mode. Other iPhones, yes. 3GS iPhone, no.

    There is also a newer version of redsn0w 0.9 beta whose archive/ZIP file name ends in "gsfix" which supposedly contains some 3GS-specific fixes, although I don't know the nature of them. So you might want to re-download redsn0w from the Dev Team site to get the latest version. I wouldn't be surprised if the main change were that it detects 3GSes in DFU mode now and properly chastises the user. :p

    -- Nathan
     
  25. B737 macrumors 6502a

    B737

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Location:
    Jersey Shore
    #25
    i confused the two and mis typed DFU vs. recovery. its not hard to follow the Redsn0ws instructions explicitly. its very simple. end result, it still failed.

    however, im sure with this new version they may have worked it out. I already used blackra1n in the meantime. little bummed i missed the update.
     

Share This Page