redsn0w "Waiting for reboot"

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by auptimus, Dec 9, 2011.

  1. auptimus macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    #1
    Hi guys,
    I have already posted this, sorry for the second time I do.
    I had few tips from Crystal_RX and I appreciate his help. That did not work. Here is the problem. My iPhone 3G is jailbroken, but I cannot get it unlocked because of this problem of "Waiting for reboot". Tried 3 or 4 different versions of redsn0w, same problem. I appreciate any other help.
    Here are the stats:
    iPhone 3G jailbroken
    FW: 4.2.1
    BB: 05.15.04

    I read on a different forum that to unlock it, it needs to the iPad1,1_3.2.2_7B500_Restore firmware, but the thing is it hangs on "Waiting for reboot"
    Any help will be appreciated.
    Thanks,
    Auptimus
     
  2. drenline macrumors 6502a

    drenline

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    #2
  3. auptimus thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    #3
    Unlock iphone 3g

    Thanks a lot for your quick response drenline. I will give it a try a post the result for people who have the same problem.
    I appreciate your help.
    Auptimus.
     
  4. auptimus thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    #4
    Unlock iPhone 3G

    I tried with the iPad baseband, everything went ok, but when I installed ultrasn0w to unlock the phone, it got stuck on Searching. Can't even find the AT&T network!!
     
  5. drenline macrumors 6502a

    drenline

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    #5
    After you unlock it, stick the new sim card in and open up cydia, this will activate it.
     
  6. auptimus thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    #6
    Unlock iPhone 3G

    Does it have to show a different baseband? Because after I did all that, it is still showing the same baseband (05.15.04) as before I used ultrasn0w.
    Sorry for asking all these questions.
     
  7. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #7
    You need to download Ipad 1,1 3.2.2 firmware on your computer first, then when you open redsn0w and click on "Install Ipad baseband", redsn0w will look for this firmware from your computer to get its baseband and put it onto your phone.

    Once you have Ipad baseband onto your phone, then ultrans0w can unlock your phone.
     
  8. drenline macrumors 6502a

    drenline

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    #8
    Yes, you didn't install the ipad baseband successfully.
     
  9. auptimus thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    #9
    Unlock iphone 3G

    Hi drenline,
    But there is some kind of confusion in your message. In one of your answers you said "You need to use the iPhone1,2_4.2.1_8C148_Restore, not the iPad1,1_3.2.2_7B500_Restore firmware." and in your last answer, you said "Yes, you didn't install the ipad baseband successfully." So is it the iPad or iPhone baseband!
     
  10. drenline macrumors 6502a

    drenline

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    #10
    I got it done with the iPhone1,2_4.2.1_8C148_Restore firmware, I didn't need the iPad1,1_3.2.2_7B500_Restore and mine worked fine. I just double checked my computer and don't see that file anywhere. But you still need to check the box in redsnow that says install ipad baseband and follow the instructions, this may take up to an hour (or even longer) while fetching the ipad baseband.
     
  11. auptimus thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    #11
    unlock iPhone 3G

    Hi,
    I did everything, nothing worked. I'm stuck on the BB 05.15.04. I cannot downgrade the BaseBand from what I read, but the only option for me is to upgrade to the iPad basebad which does not work too! When I use the iPhone1,2_4.2.1_8C148_Restore, it reboots fine, but I still get the same basebade (05.15.04), but when I try to use the iPad baseband, that's where it freezes on "Waiting for reboot".
     
  12. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #12
    The reason it freeze because Redsn0w can't find the ipad baseband.

    Here is the blob from dev team about this;

    http://blog.iphone-dev.org/post/1718.../ultra-recycle

    I have it on my computer because that what dev team told us to do. Therefore, I have successfully flash ipad baseband anytime.
     
  13. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #13
    The URL you requested could not be found.:(
     
  14. auptimus thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    #14
    Unlock

    Hi Crystal,
    As Applejuiced said, the URL cannot be found. Any way you can send me a copy?
    Thanks
     
  15. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #15
    Sorry, here is the link;

    http://blog.iphone-dev.org/post/1718400992/ultra-recycle

    Here is a sentence from this link from dev team;

    "Since 06.15 is a higher version than 05.14 or 05.15 (where AT+XAPP is gone), anyone stuck at those versions can simply upgrade to 06.15 to unlock again! Luckily for us, Apple *still* provides the iPad FW 3.2.2 with this vulnerable baseband right from their own servers. (Grab it now, before they take it down!)"
     
  16. auptimus thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    #16
  17. auptimus thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    #17
    Unlock

    Hi Crystal,
    Here are the screenshots I was telling you about.
     

    Attached Files:

  18. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #18
    You did it wrong.

    1. step 1 is to point it to 4.2.1 firmware which is the fw you have on your phone.
    2. step 2 is to click on "Install ipad baseband" 3rd box down. You don't need to do anything with ipad 1,1 3.2.2 firmware, you just need to have it on your computer so redsn0w can locate it and flash its baseband onto your phone.
    3. follow direction.

    Let us know your progress.
     
  19. auptimus thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    #19
    Unlock

    I see now! I got it. Yes, I did it wrong. I put the 2 files in different locations, that's why the iPhone FW could not locate the path to the iPad BB! Now it's working!
    Thank you very much Crystal, I really appreciate your help and thanks for your patience.
    Auptimus.
     
  20. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #20
    Glad it works out for you. Enjoy your phone.
     

Share This Page