Reduced iMac resolution from 30"

Discussion in 'iMac' started by dimensional, Aug 5, 2010.

  1. dimensional macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    #1
    Apple sliced off a bunch of the vertical resolution compared to the 30" Apple Cinema Display.

    ACD 30" = 2560x1600
    iMac 27" = 2560x1440

    Not really a huge deal. I think they did it to make it true 16:9.

    I'm just posting this because this somehow slipped past my notice. I'm one of the people demoted from Mac Pro to iMac and now I am sort of wishing I could still use my 30". (I don't have space to use both.)

    Not really a big deal. Just an FYI.

    Yeah, I know it's my fault for not paying attention. I probably still would have went with the iMac 27" anyway.
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    Apple did it nearly 10 months ago so this is nothing new...
     
  3. dimensional thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    #3
    Yeah. I didn't pay attention 10 months ago because I was in the market for a Mac Pro. I only reluctantly decided to switch to iMac when I saw how expensive the new Westmere Mac Pros were going to be.

    But yeah, my fault. I'm just posting this in case anyone else is a current Mac Pro / ACD 30" user who is on the fence between 2010 Mac Pro and 2010 iMac.
     
  4. meb91 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    #4
    Well I look at it this way: 10 months ago when the 27" came out, it replaced the 24" and increased the resolution from 1920x1200 to 2560x1440 at the same price point. There was no slicing or reducing of the vertical resolution, because there never was a 2560x1600 iMac. :D
     

Share This Page