Referees in my resume (applying for a job)

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by Nobita, Jan 2, 2011.

1. Nobita macrumors 6502

Hi all,

I'm in a weird situation. In my current job, I'm just finishing a project that will be due around Feb/March 2011. But I decided that it's time for me to move on and look for another job. However in my resume, I put the names of important people in my current job who knows me well.

What I'm afraid of is, what if the people who decide to interview me for a new job rings my current colleague? They are important people and I'm afraid if they know that I'm leaving, they won't give me credit in this project that we're just finishing off.

Since this is my first time changing job, I'm not sure what to do... I guess another option is to resign first from my current company, then start looking for another job. But that might leave me unemployed for a few months... (or God knows how long). What should I do?

2. avro707, Jan 2, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2011

avro707 macrumors 6502a

Well, I've only really done this in goverment departments, where even though you are leaving, you are just going to another part of the government, and it's all just really the same thing.

I've also had the fortune of working with really good managers over the years.

Firstly, in my experience, I don't tell the current manager until I know I've got an interview.

When I've submitted the claim for position (addressing the selection criteria) and I get an invitation for an interview, that's when I talk to the current management - and discuss the criteria for the next job, so they know what questions they might be asked, and then they are prepared for that.