rEFIt has redundant entry

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by usuario, Mar 7, 2010.

  1. usuario macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Location:
    Central VA
    #1
    Hi everyone,

    I'm using the rEFIT boot selector (it's either version 0.12 or 0.13) and I have a "Legacy OS" option that shouldn't be there.

    I think rEFIt thinks I have an extra operating system because there is a tiny gap between my Mac and Windows partition that I don't know how to get rid of.

    Is there any way to stop rEFIt from displaying this OS that doesn't exist?
     
  2. bcrguy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    Location:
    Burlington Ontario Canada
    #2
    i dunno but why didnt you use bootcamp???
     
  3. fhall1 macrumors 68040

    fhall1

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Location:
    (Central) NY State of mind
    #3
    What's using bootcamp got to do with the OP's rEFIt problem....how do you know he didn't use it?
     
  4. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #4
    I don't know for sure but my understanding is that either:

    That partition exists on all GPT-formatted volumes but is just hidden.
    Using Boot Camp creates that partition.

    In either case, I don't know of a way to get rid of it... mostly because I cannot even get rEFIt to work properly. No matter what I try it will not display its boot selector menu, on ANY reboot, no matter what keys I press or don't press. :confused:
     
  5. KingYaba macrumors 68040

    KingYaba

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Location:
    Up the irons
    #5
    I think you can edit a configuration file.

    You can use rEFit in conjunction with Bootcamp. People use rEFIt because they want a 3rd OS on their hard drive. Triple boot between OS X, Windows, and *BSD for example. Or maybe they want more than three. rEFIt does this.
     

Share This Page