Reflecting on why I'm honestly upset

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by mmarcus178, Oct 31, 2016.

1. mmarcus178 macrumors newbie

I'm a researcher -- so my job is often to look at consumer attitudes and ask "why" folks respond a certain way. In this case, I'm trying to ask myself the same question as to why I initially responded so negatively to the MPB announcements. Here's my thoughts.

We're an "apple house". I run a mac mini file server, three MBP's (one per individual), iphones, ipads and a Time Capsule as backup and router. We also use a Synology NAS and Unifi AP's, so there are a lot of moving pieces....but it all works. It works well, and pretty seamlessly.

We work on our macs. I do some web development, photography and a lot of writing on mine. My wife runs her business off hers (psychotherapist). I also use my ipad extensively for work (notetaking via a Wacom pad). We've been waiting a while for new MBP's to upgrade all current laptops.

So here's the deal. No, the new MBP's are not ideal for us. The keyboard and ports are the primary reason, but there are others. And I was upset when after the presentation. But the real reason? I think it's a larger issue as to how I interpreted the new MBP's, and how they were presented, as Apple no longer being committed to the PC market. Our Mini could use an upgrade at some point, but an upgrade that makes sense doesn't even exist. Where is Apple's evolution of the home network? Our Time Capsule from 3-4 years ago is the exact same model for sale now, I believe.