reformating pre-existing win7 bootcamp partition and reinstall windows 7

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by smellz, Oct 12, 2010.

1. smellz macrumors member

owh well dont know if u guys understand my topic lol. anyway please share your knowledge.

guys i'm using macosx 10.6.4 and bootcamp assistant 3.1

now here is the problem my windows 7 is infected with virus (thats why windows suck big time) and i need to reformat my windows 7 and reinstall a new windows 7. how am i supposed to do it? insert the installation disk and do like how we initially installed windows 7? just format the partition and reinstall again? i just want to make sure so i ask before doing anything.

or can i do this? i use winclone to restore? any1 have any idea? i'm new to all this i dont know how to do it. i have backup using winclone but how do i do it? do i still need to format then only use winclone? some 1 can guide me with tips or video it should be great!

2. balamw Moderator

balamw

Staff Member

You should try restoring the Winclone image first, assuming that the image was already not infected.

Worst case scenario. Run Boot Camp Assistant again to remove the Windows partition (restore to a single partition) and start again.

B

3. smellz thread starter macrumors member

let me try directly restoring the image first. if fail i will use bootcamp partition assistant but through reading on the net they say after removing partition i need a disk defragment program to defrag then only i can restore?

cause my question is to restore pre-existing bootcamp partition.

4. dq46 macrumors newbie