Reformatting new macbook

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by turnstylez18, Jun 29, 2007.

1. turnstylez18 macrumors regular

i just recently ordered a refurbished black macbook. On this site...it said there MAY be other programs/apps already installed. I know that this is very unlikely.
    upon getting my new macbook i would like to reformat it and erase everything...so i can start off from fresh...
    i am planning to use this as my guide..since i am very new to the world of macs...

http://www2.ucsc.edu/ihop/Reformat a Mac.htm

after the format i will only be installing ilife since the cd will come with it...

now will i have to do nething else after the format performed such as in the link?...for example in windows...when u format a laptop...u still have to install drivers and a bunch of other things....

with a mac...will everything work (such as wireless etc.) after a reformat/using the tiger os x install disk?

i dont want to end up reformating things and end up messing things up

2. Dimwhit macrumors 68000

Dimwhit

After you reformat and reinstall the OS and iLife, go to Software Update (from the Apple menu) and install all the updates. You might have to do it twice (I think some updates won't show up until others have been performed).

At that point, yeah, you're done. You shouldn't have anything else to do, except install any other apps you may want/need.

3. Jaffa Cake macrumors Core

Jaffa Cake

No, things like wireless and Bluetooth are all built into the OS so you'll be fine on that front. When you reinstall you'll have the option to do a custom install, this will allow you to miss out installing stuff like additional language packs which will save you a bit of precious hard drive space.

4. turnstylez18 thread starter macrumors regular

so after software updates...(x2)...i will be fine??..and everything SHOULD be working well??

is the proces of reformatting an easy one? much easier than windows??