Refurb Mac Pro, $2399, advice

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by ProMod, Dec 31, 2008.

1. ProMod macrumors 6502a

I am a graphic designer, with my main workload consisting of producing a 150 page magazine each month, as well as occasional logo, web, identity work, etc. I spend most of my day in InDesign, with Photoshop and Illustrator thrown in.

I currently use a 17" MBP 2.4 Ghz, 4 GB RAM hooked to a 23" ACD. The combo has served me well, but I am itching for more power, especially when working with the large documents in InDesign.

I know I don't need all the power you video and photo guys need, but I would like to see more responsiveness when working. The base model Mac Pro is available in the Refurb store for $2399. Should I jump on this? Will I see any more responsiveness or other notable gains from jumping to the Mac Pro?

I am debating pulling the trigger today for business tax purposes.

Thanks!

2. nanofrog macrumors G4

If you've made up your mind that you want a Mac Pro, I would go ahead and get it. Refurbs have a habit of disappearing quickly. ;)

Sorry I can't offer more info, as I don't do graphics design. :eek:

3. Vulcan macrumors 65816

Vulcan

Go for it. The MacBook Pro is very powerful, but the Pro quite obviously is even more.

4. Techguy172 macrumors 68000

5. wheezy macrumors 65816

wheezy

Get it, I did the same thing and while I rarely (if at all yet?) use all the power this thing has I'm still glad I have it. Also, having two full size monitors hooked up is nice instead of one smaller laptop monitor.

If you can do it and the tax break will help, go for it. I bought a refurb and love the savings.

6. irishgrizzly macrumors 65816

irishgrizzly

Do you find you get bottlenecks while working on your 170 doc on your laptop? If not you're not going to see a great difference.

Are you selling the your laptop to finance the the Mac Pro? If you're working freelance and sell it you may find you miss being able to carry your office around with you.