Refurb Store+Blackbooks=possible dip in funds.

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by abominablerror, Jan 26, 2009.

1. abominablerror macrumors newbie

abominablerror

Hello!

So I'm basically in love with the black macbook's design. I really wish they could do it in aluminum. Anyway, I had a few questions before I actually purchase it.

First of all, I'm a high school student, so money is an object. I actually have enough saved up for a low end/low end refurb of an iMac, but I'd rather have something I could take from room to room. (My dell inspirion is failing anyway, so hopefully an iMac is in our future) I'm in something called the International Baccalaureate Programme, so I'm doing all nighters all the time, and thus I need a computer that is relatively quiet, and doesn't get that hot. I've heard some bad stories of blackbook's heat and sound issues, are they true?

Also, I will be using the computer for basic stuff mainly: word processing, web/email, iTunes (which I like to have open while I'm doing my work), and watching some movies or youtube during my breaks. I'm not a heavy gamer at all, but I'd like to make a Windows partition for MapleStory, because it's the only game I ever play...and it's infrequent.

All of that is a round about way of asking what the difference between a 2.2 GHz and a 2.4 GHz processor is and if it would be of significant difference. I was curious to know how much of a difference there would be from an Intel GMA X3100 graphics card and the new nVidia cards found in the alu macs.

Thanks for your help.

2. Cboss macrumors 6502

I have a late '07 black MacBook 2.2 Ghz and have had no heat or sound issues.

The nVidia card probably won't make much difference for what you're using it for.

3. abominablerror thread starter macrumors newbie

abominablerror