Refurbished 13" MBP - current models?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Nuks, Aug 24, 2010.

1. Nuks macrumors 6502a

Hey all,

I am looking at buying a refurbished 13"MBP and I have two questions.

1) I've been out of the loop for a little bit and so I'm wondering if these two models: 2.4Ghz and 2.66Ghz are the most current versions of the MBP? All the specs seem to be the same between what's on the main Apple site and what's on these pages but I just want to be sure.

2) Is it worth it to spend the extra $250 on a better CPU ? I'm planning on probably getting 8gigs of ram as soon as possible regardless. I am a graphic designer / photographer (often using Aperture, Illustrator and Photoshop at the same time). I also will be doing a little 3d modeling (probably not too intensive), though I may do more if I go back to architecture school next year.

Many thanks

2. spinnerlys Guest

spinnerlys

Those are the current models and as they have been released in April, the Refurbished section will be filled with them (due to them being out for six months, not because of many kaputt MBPs in that specific line).

The extra 260MHz is not worth the extra money, better invest in more RAM via www.macsales.com or any other third party.

3. Nuks thread starter macrumors 6502a

4. stefan1975 macrumors 6502a

reading that part i can't help but think one thing....MBP15 i5.

My personal opinion would be that the MBP13 would suck at doing all that ... at the same time, and glossy 1200x800 might be too small + reflective as well for accurate photoshop use.

5. Nuks thread starter macrumors 6502a

My 4 year old macbook can run illustrator, photoshop and aperture at the same time, not incredibly fast, but workable. I know next to nothin about CPUs.. is the i5 500 dollars better than the core2duo? And again, how much better is the coure2duo than the core duo?

I have a 22inch external monitor that I will use, so I guess my choice comes down to: