Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Platinum0285

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 14, 2008
I'm a college student in my senior year and I'll be entering Law School next year. I'm selling my current laptop while I can get good resale value for it and want to buy a MacBook today.

Unfortunately, I'm stuck trying to decide between buying a refurbished BlackBook($1099) or the low entry Model version of the new MacBooks($1250). The price defference isn't tremendous so that's not a worry but I just want to make sure that I buy the better machine.

So far I've only used my laptop for school work on MS OFFICE, Internet browsing, and to be honest that's about it. I have no idea yet, what computer work will be needed for Law School though.

Any Advice will be highly appreciated. Thanks

seattle

macrumors 6502
May 15, 2007
Do you need or want firewire? Do you care about fast graphics? I have the Black MacBook and since I do not use it for games it works great.

cerhard

macrumors member
Oct 6, 2008
I'm not a lawyer but my father is one and my uncle is one and a bunch of my friends are in law school. I'm pretty sure that all you need for law school is some sort of computer. Oh and you will spend multiple hours reading...and reading and reading and reading. good luck with that btw...just my 2cents. I'm sure any mb would suffice your needs.

Platinum0285

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 14, 2008
I don't do any gaming on my computer (own all gaming consoles) and don't plan to ever start. To be honest I don't even know what a firewire would be used for. My computer needs have been fairly basic to this point

Platinum0285

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 14, 2008
I'm pretty sure that I wont use the firewire than. I don't use much memory so I wont need an external hard drive and I'm more into digital cameras than video cameras.