Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Mac Fan 8

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 12, 2019
Hi Everyone,

I have been a Mac user for many years now. My very first machine was a Apple Macintosh Performa 550. Since that first purchase I have always purchased new machines, but I decided to plunged into the refurbished market given the savings I would get on the machine I had been eying. I purchased directly from Apple and purchased AppleCare but I was wondering if there are any tests, things to do to make sure everything is in proper working order before I start installing and customizing my computer.

I know Apple says they completely check each machine before reselling it, but I would still like to cover all my bases and have a little peace of mind considering this is my first time buying refurbished.

If it matters I bought an iMac Pro. I could provide the specs as well, if needed.

Thanks in advance for any advice, tips you guys can provide.

chabig

macrumors G4
Sep 6, 2002
I was wondering if there are any tests, things to do to make sure everything is in proper working order before I start installing and customizing my computer.
I wouldn't do anything. Turn it on. Does it boot? If so, it's good.

Last edited:
Reactions: theapplehead

Juicy Box

macrumors 604
Sep 23, 2014
Apple's Refurbished Macs get a very thorough diagnostic tests for HW. Apple talks about it on the Refurbished website.

I would trust a Refurbished over a new Mac. The hard part for me is finding a Refurbished Mac that has the BTO options that I want. If it wasn't for this, I would always get a Refurbished Mac over a new one.

That said, if you would like to do your own testing, you can do the HW diagnostic test, it is easy, free, but a warning, the extended test can take over a day.

You can do stress tests for the memory.

You can do speed tests for the storage.